I need some windows options

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MiniD3, Mar 21, 2017.

  1. MiniD3 macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Mainly for updating devices like, 4X4 GPS/boat GPS/sounders/photographic devices that need firmware updates, only on a windows unfortunately

    I do have Windows 7 disc that has never been used

    Questions,
    Do I have to partition the Mac?
    Can I just open the Mac in windows when I need it?........hope to not use windows too often
    How do I load windows?

    I have been trying to avoid this but now I find my speed light triggers need firmware updates which is only windows

    I'm guessing I'll only use it, (windose) for the occasion update perhaps once a year at most
     
  2. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    Perhaps you could avoid the hassle of installing Windows 7 as a boot (partition) option on Mac HDD/SSD and needing to reboot into Windows each time you need to update FW or edit something on your Windows side.

    I would like to advise you to download the trial version of VMWare Fusion 8.x. While you're working on your Mac, you can just - at the same time - fire up you Windows 7 Virtual Machine and do the stuff you need Windows 7 for.

    I use VMware Fusion 8 for the same reason, highly recommended! Good luck.

    Cheers
     
  3. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Tks for the detailed reply,
    How does VMWare Fusion 8.x. compare with parallels? Or are they different types of software?

    Lastly,
    I have 2 macs, a MBP and an iMac,
    Which one should I load the windows on, or doesn't it really matter?
     
  4. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    You're most welcome! I've never used Parallels, so no hands-on comparison available here. I've been using Fusion since 2009 and it has never ever let me down for what ever reason!

    Please check the latest release notes and buying options for VMware Fusion, perhaps now-a-days you can install it on multiple Macs or get a good deal for it.

    Cheers
     
  5. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
  6. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Additional info's!: In case you really like to install Windows 7 on a partition/seperate drive on your Mac, you can also still use VMware Fusion by inserting this partition/drive in Fusion and work on both macOS and Windows 7 at the same time.

    If you need some more in-depth info's I could share some screenshots here with you.

    Cheers
     
  7. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Tks, had a look at parallels/Fusion, the fusion is over twice the price of parallels,
    Now thinking of updating devices on a friends machine, an investment of over $200 for a few updates sounds like a bad investment
     
  8. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Sure, no problem! It was worth a try.

    Cheers m8! :cool:
     
  9. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Still appreciate you input,
    I think it is still an option but a little more expensive than i thought
     
  10. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    I fully understand you POV! My reasoning is, that a very solid VM software application has a great and very fast ROI!

    Cheers
     
  11. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    All good, haven't rules anything out yet
    2-4 mth fishing/photographic tour coming up, will re-visit on return
     
  12. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12
    Good luck and have a nice trip!

    Cheers
     
  13. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    Tks, most probably take off in about 6 weeks, no date set
    I would say the only reason for even thinking windows is updating firmware for the many "toys"

    Thinking outside the square, perhaps a new, cheap laptop may be an option?
     
  14. m4v3r1ck, Mar 22, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    Yep, that is a good idea too! Hand-candy to take it along with your trip(s)

    Cheers
     
  15. MiniD3, Mar 23, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2017

    MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    I was looking at the pro version, the standard 8.5 is about the same as Parallels
    Now looking like a viable option
    If I can do all this on an external hdd, I think this is the direction I will go
    Still doing the math though...........separate windows machine sounds more secure!
     
  16. Altis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #16
    Just use VirtualBox. It's open-source and free. You don't need all the features of Parallels or VMware.

    https://www.virtualbox.org/

    You just "create new virtual machine", "from DVD", allocate the space, and you're good to go with installing the virtual machine.

    Alternatively, partition some space on your hard drive and install Windows on there via bootcamp.

    I'd use the iMac/MBP that has a disc drive and extra space on the hard drive.

    The only thing about using virtual machines is to remember that any device you connect (say via USB), you usually have to tell it to connect to the VM as the host OS and virtual OS can't both be using it at the same time.
     
  17. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    Can you do that on an external HDD instead of using the Mac SSD?
     
  18. m4v3r1ck, Mar 24, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #18
    My experience is that a (Fusion) VM can be booted/maintained from an external HDD/SSD. Please take in consideration to use a fast connection for that. I use a PCIe eSATA 6Gbs add-on card and ditto external enclosure!

    EDIT: when installing the VM directly from your Windows 7 media, just select the external HDD/SSD for saving it! That's all.

    Cheers
     
  19. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #19
    Tks for the heads-up
    have been doing a lot of research from "mr youtube"
    Looks like it can be done
    How does this compare with just using bootcamp ?
    I only have a 750GB SSD (late 2012), my concern is about partitioning the SSD and the limited space I have,
    and of course, the problems of viruses associated with having windows on the machine
    .........Gary
     
  20. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #20
    A fresh Windows 7 install, upgraded to 10 only takes ~ 30GB of space. You can of course install it using Bootcamp. But, for your planned use of it, I'd recommend skipping the BC headaches and install in a VM residing on an external disk.
    1. Just keep the macOS disk as clean-and-mean as possible.
    2. You can take it with you on your trips.

    Cheers
     
  21. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    Thank you,
    So,
    If I purchase an external SSD,
    (I already have windows 7 dvd)
    and
    If I purchase VM ware, then to have windows installed externally on the external SSD?

    Im guessing the Mac is still clean? But just using the monitor?

    have I read this correctly?
    Sorry, I'm Ok with LR and PS but my geek skills are zero, unfortunately ...........just too old :rolleyes:
     
  22. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #22
    Yep!

    1. Install VMware
    2. Install Windows 7 from DVD
    3. During install save VM as "yourVM" on external
    4. Close VM
    5. Check all settings/preferences for your Windows 7 VM
    6. Enjoy your VM for tweaking the firmwares of your outdoor gear!

    Cheers
     
  23. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #23
    Much appreciated, thank you for all your help,
    I think this will be a great solution
     
  24. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #24
    Your welcome, glad to be of help! If you have any questions/issues during your install and/or setup, just let me know here!

    Cheers, have a nice weekend!
     
  25. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #25
    Thank you,
    The only thing that would change my mind is if the wife gets a new windows machine,
    That could be another option, only that she has a different email address than me, and could be some conflict perhaps unless I work something out at the other end?
    Anyway, still sounds good,
    Will work it out on return
     

Share This Page