I need to convert some vinyl to CD - HELP!

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by SuzeB, Jan 15, 2019.

  1. SuzeB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Hi there...
    Once, long ago when I was still using Microsoft hardware, I purchased and used successfully a little 'box' to digitalise some old LP's.
    It's called TerraTec phono PreAmp studio USB - Audio Restoration Solution.

    As far as I can tell it requires a computer running a Microsoft operating system.
    I used it with an analogue NAD turntable and just plugged in the 'box' to my computer with a USB cable (mostly used with printers - sorry I've forgotten the exact name for the cable)
    The 'box' was connected to my turntable with RCA cables (in and output)

    The 'box' doesn't require mains electricity since it gets everything is needs via the USB cable.
    I remember that I only had to connect the 'box' with my computer which automatically searched for new hardware, installed in and allowed me to run it. I've just read that the PreAmp Studio USB doesn't demand special operating programs in order to function. The usual USB-operating programs are the only requirements.

    Now my question - can I use my 'box' on my Mac? I have read somewhere on line that Mac users using an analogue record player need a PreAmp something. So I have a PreAmp box but don't know if it will work with a Mac...... knowing my luck probably not!
     
  2. open0, Jan 15, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 15, 2019

    open0 macrumors member

    open0

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    #2
    about converting some vinyls to CDs, it doesnt depend on MAC but depend on your audio devices to perform
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    Try this and get back to us:

    1. Connect the turntable to the box
    2. Plug the box into a Mac USB port
    3. Open Audio/MIDI Setup (in the utilities folder)
    4. Do you see "the box" in the Audio/MIDI input panel?
    5. If it's "there", can you "select" it to be the input device?
     
  4. SuzeB, Jan 15, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 15, 2019

    SuzeB thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    Yes - I agree......and since posting my question, I discovered a very good YouTube video explaining 'how to connect' even if using RCA cables from my turntable and then firing up Garage Band to record. It hadn't seriously occurred to me that dear Apple had already foreseen my problem without me knowing about it myself when I bought my Mac back in 2016 (*_*) It's a bit long winded (maybe) but seems to offer what I need to convert my old LP's. But thanks for your reply - I'll take any and all advice!
    --- Post Merged, Jan 15, 2019 ---
    Thank you so much - this sound really easy (*_*) I'll try it out at the weekend when I have a little more time to mess around with my Mac! I've since also found a YouTube clip for recording from either an analogue or USB connected turntable to Mac and then using Garage Band to convert the sounds. There are plenty of grey hairs on my head but I tend to persevere so I'm sure to get to the end result at some point. I often just need pointing in the right direction is all.
     
  5. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #5
    Definitely give it a shot but consider that the manual for that device is dated 2003 and that it only gives installation instructions for Windows 98, Windows ME, Windows 2000, and Windows XP.

    Also, there are many examples of USB devices, including USB audio devices, that…even though they've worked in prior versions of macOS…fail when presented to a newer one.
     
  6. mikzn macrumors 6502a

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #6
    Good chance that unit is going to be very slow at converting and a new unit might be worth the cost if you have a lot of vinyl to convert? Save time?

    Also what kind of quality are you aiming at MP3? AAC? ALAC? FLAC? - might be worth buying new?

    Something like this? - Ultra-Low Latency 2 In/2 Out USB/Audio Interface with Digital Output
     
  7. rbrian macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #7
    If it doesn't work, look on Amazon or eBay for Windows OEM keys, which can be as low as $10. You can use Bootcamp to get install Windows, which can be downloaded free, the key makes it legitimate. Then you can run Windows and macOS on the same machine.
     
  8. SuzeB thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #8
    Thanks for your comments Brian - much appreciated.... and yes I had started looking into purchasing something better suited for my Mac. I'll get there in the end, I'm sure (*_*)
    --- Post Merged, Jan 15, 2019 ---
    Thanks for the tip but I didn't really want Windows on my Mac - I was every so pleased when I made the jump to Apple and left most things Microsoft in the past!! I sadly still have to help hubby with his laptop since he's too old to try to figure out how and what and when (bless - he turned 80 last year!). I always get roped in to sorting out his programs and errors even on his email hahahaha
    --- Post Merged, Jan 15, 2019 ---
    MP3 I think is best suited for my needs...... I will, after all, only be making a straight copy from an LP via a computer to CD or iPod or both. And I only have two boxes of my vinyl memories and doubt I will want to digitise all of them - only the favourites (*_*) Thanks for your tip though - much appreciated!
     
  9. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #9
    If you're wanting to use the same turntable that you used with the TerraTec then you'll need a device with a phono pre-amp. The TerraTec had this.

    Most USB sound "cards" do NOT have that feature...including the one linked to in post #6.
     
  10. mikzn macrumors 6502a

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #10
    that assuming you go direct from the turntable - but it's more common to feed the output of the turntable to the amp and then to the sound card which can be output jacks or headphone jack on the amp connected to the sound card.
     
  11. dwig macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #11
    The Behringer device you link to WILL NOT WORK without the addition of a proper RIAA preamp. This version only has line level inputs.

    Behringer does offer a very similar version, the UFO202, which does contain a proper preamp and has a switch to toggle between line level and phono level input. Check out https://www.amazon.ca/Behringer-UFO...d=1547586705&sr=8-1&keywords=behringer+ufo202
     
  12. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #12
    Several years ago, I built a Windows "Shuttle" computer that included a Terratec audio input device that took up a 5.5" slot. It had all the right software included and worked very well with the turntable I had purchased. This was not for me but for my father. Sadly Terratec doesn't make this computer audio item anymore. (Attached via cable to a card internally.)
    [​IMG]


    What I suggest is your take a look at this link to provide a bit of clarity. https://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theater/how-to-convert-vinyl-to-digital/
     
  13. Howard2k macrumors 68000

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #13
    There are quite a few cheap turntables that have a USB interface on them.
    That would give you a spare turntable as well as a method for conversion.
     
  14. Wando64 macrumors 6502

    Wando64

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    #14
    It doesn’t deed to be any faster than real time audio conversion.
    If that is what it was made for, then it is still good (subject to compatibility).
     
  15. MarkC426 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    I use a Technics analog turntable plugged into a stereo mixer (pre-amp) which connects to mac via line in.
    Simple record in Garageband, then into itunes.
     
  16. dwig macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #16
    @OP: If you have a stereo receiver that the turntable is normally connected to and if the receiver has a "tape" output then you can connect the tape out RCA connectors to a Mac's line input, if your Mac has such. The 3.5mm jack that is common on modern Mac only allows for mono input at Microphone signal levels and is inappropriate for this use. You could use the receiver's tape out to feed a device like the originally posted Behringer device that lacked a phono preamp, but if I was going to purchase such a device I would opt for the one with the built in preamp even though it omits the optical inputs in exchange.
     
  17. MarkC426 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    My spec sheet says ‘analog stereo’ line in/out.
     
  18. dorsal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    #18
    Not sure how it works in the Netherlands, but did you check to see if your albums are available on CD at your local library? That would simplify the process.
     
  19. MarkC426 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    I don’t think that is exactly legal, if you are recommending copying them.....o_O
     

Share This Page