I Need To Know If This Hard Drive Is Compatible With My MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Neverbepeace, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. Neverbepeace macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hitachi 7200rmp 250gb sata with 3.0 g/s hdd............any help

    I have the mid june macbook pro unibody
     
  2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #2
    What is the physical size 2.5" or 3.5"

    A link would be much easier.
     
  3. Neverbepeace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #3
  4. NikFinn macrumors 6502a

    NikFinn

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    MA
  5. mattais macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    The two key pieces of information you are looking for here are the Sata connector and the 2.5" form factor.

    You should be fine.
     
  6. Doju macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #6
    That and the height. 9.5mm is what you need, 12mm don't work.
     
  7. Neverbepeace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    aye

    How would i know for sure? the part number on the hard drive reads 487581-001

    but no information comes up that can steer me in the right direction.
     
  8. electroshock macrumors 6502a

    electroshock

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #8
    What size screen MBP? 13", 15", 17"?

    IIRC, the 17" can take the larger 12mm HDs but don't recall re: 13" and 15" MBPs.

    Also, HP doesn't manufacture their own hard drives so this is probably a rebranded drive from a HD manufacturer. So not enough information to determine the height -- could try calling the seller to see if they know.
     
  9. Neverbepeace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    ok

    I have the 13"
     
  10. electroshock macrumors 6502a

    electroshock

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #10
    Ooh, pretty sure you need a 9.5mm HD for it to fit. Not sure how you'd find height without calling the seller because the link doesn't have enough information (not even the original mfr's model number).
     
  11. Neverbepeace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    ok

    ok, I just verified that it is a 9.5mm hard drive. Should it fit?
     
  12. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    does not matter , 12.5mm or 9.5mm will fit

    i have installed a 750gb into a customers 13" mbp before.
     
  13. Neverbepeace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Last question.......im not backing up the computer because i just bought it and nothing is on it. The way i am thinking of doing it is putting the apple cd into the drive, turn off laptop and install new drive. boot it up and it should download os correct?
     
  14. mattais macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #14
    You got it. But don't be nervous about getting it in that order. You can still put in and take out CD's at any time, you don't have to have the CD in there before you swap out the drives.
     
  15. prodigee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #15
    Just do that and you will be ok.
     
  16. Neverbepeace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    Ok......I did what I said I was going to do. Its telling me that if I want to install on this disk.....select utiility then disk utility and repartition using guid. But when I click on partition, its says on the bottom......"This partition can not be modified. What should I do now?
     
  17. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #17
    Make sure you're not picking the EFI partition...
     
  18. Neverbepeace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #18
    ok

    How would I know if I'm picking up the efi partition? I'm just following the prompts.
     
  19. prodigee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #19
    The EFI partition is a much smaller partition than the normal hard drive, it should be like 200 mb vs. however large the hard drive is that you bought.
     
  20. Neverbepeace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #20
    ok

    Ok, I'm completely confused now. I have no idea what EFI is or means. Just trying to install the os lol.
     
  21. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #21
    Cool, I just bought myself a Hitachi Travelstar 500GB drive. It's good to know others have used this drive in their MBP :cool:
     
  22. Neverbepeace thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #22
    ok

    I think i got it......its showing up as untitled 1 partition and now mac os is installing......
     
  23. electroshock macrumors 6502a

    electroshock

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #23
    EFI: Extensible Firmware Interface. Think of it as being sort of like a small OS that starts booting the actual OS (MacOS X, Windows, Linux, whatever).
     

Share This Page