I need to know some info on Unlocked iPhones.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mikelong622, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. mikelong622 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #1
    I have t-mobile.

    I also have a brand new 16gb iPod Touch.

    I'm going to try and trade my iPod for an iPhone - but that's besides the point.

    I'm wondering how well the Unlocked iPhones work on T-mobile. I know that the visual voicemail doesn't work. What else does/doesn't work. Will I have to up my plan in order to use it? Will I have access to internet and apps? Is it difficult to unlock an iPhone? What other roadblocks might I encounter?

    It's something that I am really pondering right now. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    Apparently they work great on T-Mobile. A co-worker just got his unlocked (it takes a bit of work I guess), but he got it going. Everything works on his except for the visual voicemail. He didn't have to upgrade his plan, but he doesn't have the internet on it now. I read somewhere that you can add the t-zones plan to your account and change a few settings on the phone to have full functioning internet for $5.99 a month.

    You CANNOT run the latest firmware update at this point in time. He is stuck at 1.1.2 for the time being. In fact, I bought my iPhone on Monday (it's sitting in the box right next to me as I type this). I'm not sure if I'm going to keep it. My employer will technically pay half on it provided I submit the receipt and use it for business purposes. If all goes as planned, I'll be working on my MacBook Pro away from the store, so the iCal will help a ton! I think I also remember reading somewhere about a timeclock app for the iPhone where you can clock in and keep track of how long you work. That'd be helpful for getting started working remotely.

    Anyway, I think you'd be fine using an iPhone with T-Mobile as long as it is not up to date on the firmware. And like I said, it takes a hardware hack to get it unlocked that involves cutting up a SIM card. Anyway, Good luck!
     
  3. mikelong622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #3
    I've read that there are ways to do software unlocks on the phones. Do these work as well? Right now I have t-zones on my plan. Would I still be able to use wi-fi to have internet access at home? Thanks for the help!
     
  4. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #4
    There is no way to currently do a software unlock on the iPhones that are in stores now. From what I've read, they are working on it now and probably are fairly close to having one out. As far as wi-fi at home, yes you can. The guy at work was using his on wi-fi until the router was removed last week due to security reasons. Another guy at work put his own router in the store which screwed up the network and cause a security hazard for the jewelry store I work at. That's a pretty scary thing. Anyway, I myself don't know whether to hold out for the software unlock or to just buy one of those SIM unlockers. But yeah, you should be fine there.
     
  5. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #5
    t-zones will no longer work with the unlimited edge, you need the unlimited data plan that is $20 a month, or the blackberry plan, which is the same price
     
  6. mikelong622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #6
    Alright so...is it unwise to buy an already unlocked iphone? Is there things people can do to them that I wouldn't want? Would the best bet be to buy an iphone, and then bring it somewhere to get unlocked? How much does unlocking cost, or is it possible to do it myself? What features will NOT work on an unlocked iPhone? I know that visual voicemail doesn't.
     
  7. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #7
    i'd buy one yourself, there's plenty of free tutorials and applications on this very forum that will walk you through it step by step.

    it will be cheeper and you'll know what happened to your phone instead of some random person doing something to it

    literally the only feature of the phone (running 1.1.2) that will not work is visual voice mail. everything else is capable of working
     
  8. mikelong622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #8
    So then the only thing that I'd need to do with T-mobile is sign up for the unlimited data/messaging/whatnot plan? Sounds simple enough. In fact, looks like I'll be putting my iPod up for sale/trade tonight!!

    Speaking of which...anyone wanna buy a like new 16gb touch or trade for iphone!! :D
     
  9. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #9
    And the only reason the visual voicemail won't work is because it's specific to at&t. I'd guess the major backbone for that is controlled by at&t themselves and not Apple, but I'm not positive.

    I had no idea about the t-zones. I just remember reading that somewhere. I also read that I could do it with my current phone (T-Mobile Dash) on another forum. The process was the same. I may be ordering my unlock SIM here in a day or so. It's hard to let this thing just sit in an unopened box. :rolleyes:
     
  10. mikelong622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #10
    So is the unlock Sim a peice of hardware that unlocks your sim to work in the iphone, thus leaving the iphone unchanged?

    Sorry for all the ?'s. I am usually pretty tech savvy...but I don't know jack when it comes to cell phones and being locked/unlocked/whatever.
     
  11. cazlar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    As far as I understand it, the SIM hacks (TurboSIM et al) just trick the iPhone into thinking it is talking to an AT&T SIM, while still acting like the other carriers SIM when it talks to the towers.

    The only thing I would stress if you plan on unlocking (by any method) is that you are aware that you cannot just upgrade the firmware whenever there's an update. If you want to upgrade for new features, you need to wait and see if it will break your unlock, or prevent activation etc. Therefore you might have to wait for a while (weeks usually) and there's the chance that in the future you may be "stuck" on an older firmware. And your warranty is shot of course.

    That being said, I have an unlocked t-mobile iPhone (as I wanted a pre-paid one) and I love it.
     
  12. mikelong622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #12
    So would you suggest a simple software unlock? Am I correct in assuming that once my iPhone is unlocked, and once my year and a half of T-Mobile is over, I can never again re-lock it to go back to AT&T legitimately?
     
  13. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #13
    There is no software unlock right now. The ONLY way to unlock an iPhone that are in stores now is with one of those SIM cards. I am not positive, but I'd say that if you just pulled that card out it would tell you to activate it? Does anyone know?

    Besides, why would you want to go over to at&t? :D
     
  14. mikelong622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #14
    I don't. Well I guess I will head back over to the forums once I have my new iPhone. I trust you guys. Don't worry I'm sure I'll have a slew of problems once I start.
     
  15. mikelong622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #15
    I feel so dumb asking all these questions.

    Is jailbreaking the same as unlocking? If I go buy a brand new iPhone it will have 1.1.3 right? Is that unlockable? Does anyone know of a tutorial that can explain from start to finish the best way to make an iphone work on T-mobile. I just don't want to do something permanent that at some point might leave me with a non-working iPhone.
     
  16. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #16
    I followed this tutorial here, but I can't seem to get it to upgrade to 1.1.2 and function. Anyway, check it out.

    http://hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=17738&highlight=turbo
     
  17. deckwalker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Lao PDR
    #17
    Hi @mikelong622,

    I have many of the same questions. Normally I'm fairly tech savvie, but the whole phone thing is brand new. I have an OTB 1.1.2 with an activated AT&T SIM that I use when I'm in the US. Now I'm overseas and am really trying to find a way to get a local SIM to work.

    Here's what I've found: unlocking requires jailbraking for the 1.1.2, even with a hardware unlock, you have to first jailbrake (which I don't have a need for).

    Here are a couple of links that I've found helpful, but no answers yet:

    http://cre.ations.net/blog
    http://planet-iphones.com/

    And here's a good thread about the various types of hardward SIM unlocks:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=406701&highlight=anySIM
     
  18. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #18
    this is not true in the slightest!
    as of right now this minute there are people using a SOFTWARE unlock on T-Mobile using version 1.1.3. (I'm one of them)

    if you purchase a 1.1.2 OTB iPhone, it is possible to downgrade to 1.1.1. You can then jailbreak it, then unlock it, and then even update to 1.1.3 with the newest iBrickr. The only downside is that your baseband (as of right now) will remain the 1.1.2 baseband and not be upped to the *.03.* baseband.

    And to answer your question, you can re-lock the phone at anytime if you use a software unlock.
     
  19. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #19
    So you are saying that I can software unlock my iPhone and make calls with it? I have it "hacktivated" if you will, but I thought the only way to unlock it to make calls was with one of those piggyback SIM cards. If I'm wrong I'd love to have the step by step on how to unlock it so I can use it as a phone.
     
  20. mikelong622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #20
    So if I go buy a brand new iPhone and get OTB 1.1.3 do I have options as far as unlocking/jailbreaking goes? I haven't heard if they've done it yet or not.
     
  21. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #21
    My understanding is that you can't unlock the newer iPhones without a SIM unlock. They apparently have 1.1.3 jailbroken now, but it hasn't been released yet. So, you may have up to a few weeks to wait until you can use it. Again, that's my understanding of what's going on.
     
  22. mikelong622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #22
    Well from what I've been gathering, it seems like this is something that I am simply just going to have to try. So I guess my ultimate question is; if I go at this and give it a try, is there any possibility that I could screw up royally and just be out 400 dollars?
     
  23. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #23
    Just do it all within 14 days and be out a $39.90 restocking fee if you do screw it up. :p

    I got my iPhone on Monday. It is a week 51 build, so my guess is if you go to the Apple store (NOT online) you will probably be able to get a 1.1.2 iPhone. That's probably your best bet.
     
  24. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #24

    LIE
    . Still works, actually working on all of the 18 phones that I unlocked, including mine.

    Replace your preferences.plist in your iPhone with this one. I would back up the one your removing. Thank me later.

    Note: Replace the name of your phone where I specified in BOLD towards the end of the code.

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>CurrentSet</key>
    	<string>/Sets/A67F75E1-62A6-4982-8E1F-6A61A27356DE</string>
    	<key>NetworkServices</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>1DC03DCC-EF49-4906-9ED8-620FCE1EA229</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>Interface</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>DeviceName</key>
    				<string>ip1</string>
    				<key>Hardware</key>
    				<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
    				<key>Type</key>
    				<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
    			</dict>
    			<key>Proxies</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>ProxyAutoConfigEnable</key>
    				<integer>1</integer>
    				<key>ProxyAutoConfigURLString</key>
    				<string>file:///private/var/root/proxy.pac</string>
    			</dict>
    			<key>com.apple.CommCenter</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>AllowNetworkAccess</key>
    				<integer>1</integer>
    				<key>Available</key>
    				<integer>1</integer>
    				<key>Setup</key>
    				<dict>
    					<key>apn</key>
    					<string>wap.voicestream.com</string>
    					<key>password</key>
    					<string></string>
    					<key>username</key>
    					<string></string>
    				</dict>
    				<key>Version</key>
    				<integer>1</integer>
    			</dict>
    		</dict>
    		<key>3C6A13C8-2C15-483A-8C11-84BE65425E04</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>Interface</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>DeviceName</key>
    				<string>ip2</string>
    				<key>Hardware</key>
    				<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
    				<key>Type</key>
    				<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
    			</dict>
    			<key>com.apple.CommCenter</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>AllowNetworkAccess</key>
    				<integer>0</integer>
    				<key>Available</key>
    				<integer>1</integer>
    				<key>Setup</key>
    				<dict>
    					<key>apn</key>
    					<string>acds.voicemail</string>
    					<key>password</key>
    					<string></string>
    					<key>username</key>
    					<string></string>
    				</dict>
    				<key>Version</key>
    				<integer>1</integer>
    			</dict>
    		</dict>
    		<key>7AC12886-9C33-4928-919F-DD22E613BAB8</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>AppleTalk</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>ConfigMethod</key>
    				<string>Node</string>
    				<key>__INACTIVE__</key>
    				<true/>
    			</dict>
    			<key>DNS</key>
    			<dict/>
    			<key>IPv4</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>ConfigMethod</key>
    				<string>DHCP</string>
    			</dict>
    			<key>IPv6</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>ConfigMethod</key>
    				<string>Automatic</string>
    			</dict>
    			<key>Interface</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>DeviceName</key>
    				<string>en0</string>
    				<key>Hardware</key>
    				<string>AirPort</string>
    				<key>Type</key>
    				<string>Ethernet</string>
    			</dict>
    			<key>Proxies</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>ExceptionsList</key>
    				<array>
    					<string>*.local</string>
    					<string>169.254/16</string>
    				</array>
    				<key>FTPPassive</key>
    				<integer>1</integer>
    			</dict>
    			<key>SMB</key>
    			<dict/>
    			<key>UserDefinedName</key>
    			<string>AirPort</string>
    		</dict>
    	</dict>
    	<key>Sets</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>A67F75E1-62A6-4982-8E1F-6A61A27356DE</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>Network</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>Global</key>
    				<dict>
    					<key>IPv4</key>
    					<dict>
    						<key>ServiceOrder</key>
    						<array>
    							<string>7AC12886-9C33-4928-919F-DD22E613BAB8</string>
    							<string>1DC03DCC-EF49-4906-9ED8-620FCE1EA229</string>
    							<string>3C6A13C8-2C15-483A-8C11-84BE65425E04</string>
    						</array>
    					</dict>
    				</dict>
    				<key>Interface</key>
    				<dict>
    					<key>en0</key>
    					<dict>
    						<key>AirPort</key>
    						<dict>
    							<key>JoinMode</key>
    							<string>Automatic</string>
    						</dict>
    					</dict>
    				</dict>
    				<key>Service</key>
    				<dict>
    					<key>1DC03DCC-EF49-4906-9ED8-620FCE1EA229</key>
    					<dict>
    						<key>__LINK__</key>
    						<string>/NetworkServices/1DC03DCC-EF49-4906-9ED8-620FCE1EA229</string>
    					</dict>
    					<key>3C6A13C8-2C15-483A-8C11-84BE65425E04</key>
    					<dict>
    						<key>__LINK__</key>
    						<string>/NetworkServices/3C6A13C8-2C15-483A-8C11-84BE65425E04</string>
    					</dict>
    					<key>7AC12886-9C33-4928-919F-DD22E613BAB8</key>
    					<dict>
    						<key>__LINK__</key>
    						<string>/NetworkServices/7AC12886-9C33-4928-919F-DD22E613BAB8</string>
    					</dict>
    				</dict>
    			</dict>
    			<key>UserDefinedName</key>
    			<string>Automatic</string>
    		</dict>
    	</dict>
    	<key>System</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>System</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>ComputerName</key>
    			<string>[B]urphone name here[/B] </string>
    			<key>ComputerNameEncoding</key>
    			<integer>134217984</integer>
    			<key>HostName</key>
    			<string>[B]urphone name here[/B] </string>
    		</dict>
    	</dict>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
    
     
  25. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #25
    How do I know what my iPhone name is AJ Muni? When I look at my preference.plist there is no phone name there. So, just curious. Thanks!
     

Share This Page