I need your help!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by -EmilyKerr, Jul 27, 2011.

1. -EmilyKerr macrumors newbie

Hello,

This is my first time posting in here so hopefully you guys will be able to help me out.

My macbook pro was working fine this morning, now as I go to turn it on, it doesnt work. I hear the chime but the screen stays black. The battery is chagred, and is plugged in, but still nothing. I have not spilled anything on it, nor have I downloaded or installed anything new in the past year.

As we speak I can hear the fan going, and the computer is very hot.

I currently have it plugged into my old charger (used for macbook, not mac book pro) my mac seems to respond differently when charging with this old one (it takes longer) I have not tried my new charger yet. Not even sure if that makes a differnce or not.

On a side note, it has been acting up lately. I will charge it fully, but when unplugged it only lasts about 20 mins.

Now I'm not sure if its something to do with the battery, or if its the motherboard, or what.

How much is it to just get looked at? I dont believe that it is under warranty anymore.

Thanks for your help!

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Use your new charger, stop using the old one as the watts are probably different. Apple won't charge you to look at it if it is under warranty, is it?
    I would reset the SMC.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3964

3. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

What year is it? Try Coconutbattery and see what it says.
    Coconutbattery

4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Have you tried turning your screen brightness up? I've had mine boot up on occasion with the brightness all the way down. For charging issues try resetting the SMC. This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions:
    Make note of the CHECKING STATUS AND HEALTH section in the link above.

5. -EmilyKerr thread starter macrumors newbie

How do I reset the SMC?