I now have 2 routers can i use them both?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by kinnyboy, Sep 25, 2009.

  1. kinnyboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    #1
    Ive just been forced to change ISP and as part of the contract must use their provided router. But, the range on this thing is crappy so I simply plugged my old router into the back of the new one via ethernet (into the 'internet' port on the old one and one of the numbered 1-4 ports on the new one) and i now have 2 networks. I can connect to my old router/network and get online with it but wonder if there is a better way of doing it or if there are some settings i can change in either router to make this setup more effective as im sure i can get some better speed happening. Someone mentioned changing DHCP servers on the old router to me but im not really sure what that means.

    many thanks
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    Yes you can. Read the manuals.

    It's a complex topic of which geek squad charges around $50 to handle
    (not like I recommend them, but time it take you to figure it out depends on your technical knowledge, or you can get an Apple airport base station which are easy to set up).
     
  3. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #3
    Use your old router for WiFi and disable WiFi on the ISP router
     
  4. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #4
    Can you change your ISP provided router into bridge mode? And also what kind of router? Is it a router/modem combo?
     
  5. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #5
    Routers do many things, especially the home ones. One big thing is DHCP, which is kinda like giving out network addresses on your home network. You want only one router doing this. Otherwise if both routers are giving out addresses, it can confuse your home computers.

    See if you can disable DHCP on one of them. Putting it into Bridge mode as another poster mentioned is another way of disabling DHCP.

    Also you only want one router doing the wifi. Otherwise if both routers have active wifi, the signals will clash, and degrade the range even more.

    Have a look at the settings webpage on the routers, and change the settings on the one which has a clearer settings webpage.
     
  6. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #6
    I think I'd leave the ISP provided router as-is, and plug the Internet/WAN port of your router into an ethernet port on theirs. The ISP will see their router from the WAN side, and you'll get your extended wireless range.

    I'd advise changing the channels on your router to something different than the ISPs or disable the ISPs wifi altogether (which would be even better).

    Nothing complex here, and it will work straight away.
     
  7. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #7
    Two Routable IP addresses

    Mac OS X Server only supports one routeable IP address.
    You can not use both of them to connect to the internet.

    The second adapter can only be used to connect with other IP directly on the same subnet as its own IP.

    You choose which adapter will route by setting the service order.


    -M
     
  8. kinnyboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    #8
    Thanks for all the replies guys. I will try all this today. Looks pretty straightforward.
     

Share This Page