I/O device questions

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by guitarguy2789, Aug 6, 2007.

1. guitarguy2789 macrumors newbie

I just recently purchased a macbook and I have a very fond interest in recording. I'm no pro more of a hobbiest who could record local bands on site, not to mention my self, and such. After searching the forum I have come to the conclusion that the firewire interface is the way to go, however i'm unknowledgeable on the difference on the mixers and.. well everything else. If i understand correctly the firewire mixer will only record one track after an external mix? or will it record 8 tracks at the same time? If not i would like to know what i could use to perhaps record a drum set maybe with 4-6 tracks, and then later track bass, guitar, keyboard, and vocals.

All thoughts provided will be greatly appreciated, however please keep in mind that i'm a student and that my budget can't always afford the best of the best, also I'm just doing this for fun. I love music!

thank you

2. AviationFan macrumors 6502a

AviationFan

There are plenty of Firewire devices out there (mixers and others) that can input multiple channels of audio at the same time.

Check out Firewire mixers such as the Mackie Onyx 1220 and Tascam's FW-1082, as well as audio interfaces such as the M-Audio Firewire 410 or the Tascam FW-1804. I don't want to recommend these products in particular, but give you a starting point to learn about what is out there and then do your own research to find the product that works best for you.

- Martin

3. guitarguy2789 thread starter macrumors newbie

so... you are saying that if i get a mixer then if i was recording w/ 3 mics simultaneously then I'll have 3 separate tracks to edit in my daw or will i get 1 track mixed to the mixer's settings?

4. Killyp macrumors 68040

Killyp

I'm not sure about the others, but my Alesis MultiMix Firewire (NOT the USB version) records 16 channels independently (up to 12 in Logic).