i only see the 32GB drive in vista

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by lechon, Dec 9, 2007.

  1. lechon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #1
    i assigned 32gb of my 500gb drive to vista upon setting up boot camp. when i'm in vista, only the 32gb drive is available to me. which means i can't access any files on the macintosh drive. and it also prevents me from installing much applications in vista. is this normal? should the macintosh hard drive also be available to me in vista?? i hope so :eek:
     
  2. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
  3. lechon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #3
    woah thats unfortunate. wow much do you usually allocate for the vista partition?
     
  4. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
  5. lechon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #5
    from what i understand, you can't install programs on the osx drive though, true? ie, i need my windows photoshop and premiere and office installed for vista use.

    i don't have access to the mac versions of the said software :eek:
     
  6. Matek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #6
    As some people said, you can use MacDrive to access the rest of your hard drive from Vista. Using that you probably could install some software on the mac partition, but I wouldn't recommend it. Since you have a 500 GB drive, I suggest you simply make your windows partition bigger (100 GB or so) and install windows tools on it.
     
  7. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #7
    When running in Window, correct you can not use the OS X versions of the programs.
     
  8. lechon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #8
    yeah, i think that's what i'll do. until adobe updates photoshop to play nice with leopard, i'm stuck with that option. thanks.
     
  9. lechon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #9
    that's not what i meant, i wanted to install pc software on the mac partition to be used while in windows. but apparently i can't.
     

Share This Page