I ordered wrong RAM for Mac Pro, will it work?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by smudja, Jun 16, 2008.

  1. smudja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    hello,
    I ordered Kingston Memory - 4 GB ( 2 x 2 GB ) - FB-DIMM 240-pin - DDR II - 667 MHz - fully buffered from amazon, but part number is KTH-XW667/4G instead of KTA-MP667/4G...

    Can I use it in 1st generation mac pro?
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    That's the FB-DIMM intended for the XServe
    It doesn't have the large heatsinks on it and Kingston doesn't guarantee compatibility with your machine - best to send it back before opening it if you can.
     
  3. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #3
    Well it's technically compatible. So you might as well try it and monitor the temps.
     
  4. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #4
    I agree with Canada Ram. Send it back. You will have trouble sending it back latter. Why take the chance. :confused:
     
  5. Mr.Noisy macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #5
    CanadaRAM is right, why monitor the temps looking for a problem when returning it and getting the right RAM will make sure there shouldn't be a problem and no need to monitor the temps :)
     
  6. rikoshay macrumors member

    rikoshay

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    No. California (in the Redwoods)
    #6
    Well, I can sure comment on that; right after I purchased my 2007 Mac Pro, I ordered more RAM from OWC. And then, instead of operating temps of 130-140F, I was seeing temps of 250-260(!), for just the OWC RAM. Physically, they looked the same as the Apple RAM. By the time I'd installed the temp. widget, iStat Pro, the video card, an ATI 1900, was beginning to fail (pixelation, freezes) during gameplay. It was physically located right above the over-heated RAM, & didn't dig it. I ended up replacing the video card (with a newer revision 1900 card) and the OWC RAM. All problems solved. OWC got the same high temp readings as I on the returned RAM, & didn't have a clue as to the immediate cause. Their RAM replacements to me ran at over 100 degrees cooler. Conclusion: Monitor your temps!
     
  7. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #7
    Save time, aggravation, and possibly money by sending it back and getting the correct memory that you won't have to worry about.
     
  8. btollenaar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #8
    Recommendations?

    Just bought a 8-core 2.8 (woohooo!) Lookin' to beef up the RAM (of course). What do you kids recommend? I hate how the 800mhz RAM is almost twice as much as the 667mhz, but what's a boy to do...
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    We have a Guide : Mac Hardware : Buying RAM
     
  10. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #10
    I just put in 4x2GB OWC "Apple Qualified" RAM to make my Mac Pro into 10GB...ran hardware test, zero problems. Ran REMBER for 2 days, zero problems.

    Great RAM and netlist ram is not even worth it imo.
     
  11. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #11
    I've already driven drunk down the road of saving $50-$100 on ram and ended up buying the wrong ram and there were no heat sinks. At first I didn't think the lack of heat sinks mattered, but while I was waiting for my return to be processed I actually took the time to read and realized the importance of them.

    In short, return the ram.
     
  12. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    I wouldn't use it even if it did work. Why use 667 when you can have 800?
     

Share This Page