I pulled the trigger and installed on my main rMBP

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Freida, Jun 13, 2015.

  1. Freida macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #1
    I was debatting whether or not I should pull the trigger but eventually decided to risk it.
    I made time machine backup and downloaded the DP1. With Yosemite, I did have some problems here and there and I still had the graphical glitch then when waking computer from sleep it showed some crazy weird noisy image before giving me the option to log in.

    Now, after installation I was carefully examining what got broken and I can say that only little snitch didn't work. I installed latest update and now all good.

    RESULT? My 2012 rMBP 15" is smoking fast, no sleep wake up graphical glitch and overall responsiveness improved a lot. Its very noticeable. So far, it feels like having a new computer.

    Very happy with my risky move. No regrets!

    It seems to me that Apple made the right choice and focused on the important things rather than some fluff. Very happy puppy here :)
     
  2. DribbleCastle macrumors regular

    DribbleCastle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Thanks for sharing your experience. I'm considering installing it on my Mac (2013 13" rMBP) today. I figure I have my work Mac to fall back on if I need something stable. Of course, not hard to go back wipe and Time Machine backup but I never actually seem to do so once I leap into the future.

    I'm looking forward to the over improved graphics performance. If I'm running multiple external monitors things like mission control always become choppy. Hoping El Capitan is the fix.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    DP1 - no thanks. Its not worth the risk for me. I'll live vicariously through you all :D
     
  4. lattethan macrumors newbie

    lattethan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Location:
    Philly
    #4
    I also pulled the trigger and installed it on my Mid-2014 13" rMBP and I haven't had any major issues. Battery life and performance have been noticeably better then they were on Yosemite! The only issue I have had is web pages in safari sometimes load in the mobile version/look strange but a refresh of the webpage usually fixes it. I usually never install first betas but I strongly recommend trying this one out.
     
  5. Freida thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #5
    Well, seeing that my experience so far has been great then I have no reason not to try DP1. If it was awful then I would remember it for next time and won't do it. :)
    But this seems more solid than Yosemite ever was.
     
  6. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #6
    I installed DP 1 on my main rMBP and a Mini Server, satisfied with the performance of both - Apple's done a pretty decent job so far IMHO with this OS.

    BUT, in utter, full agreement with Mr. Flynn's rationale, 10.11 is installed on a new partition on my rMBP and the 2nd drive on my Mini Server - there's no way I'd install any DP 1 on a main startup disk.
     
  7. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #7
    Same here, would like too, risk and cost of downtime too high

    Q-6
     
  8. Ultracyclist macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #8
    Why say its to risky? As El Cap is not a extreem big update... Most of it remains the same as is in Yosemite. Only risk you take is that new features might not be working fully or apps you now own might not work. Those I do not consider big or high risk.

    You could always start using it on a other partition to test it before you make it your primary OS.
     
  9. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #9
    It's the first iteration of a new OS. You say it's not an extreme update, but actually it is. No new features but loads of changes down in the core of the OS (metal for example). This is a more extreme update than Yosemite was over Mavericks.
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Because I use my laptop for work and risking any downtime is not acceptable. You're right, 10.11 is more like a snow yosemite, yet there are some significant changes under the hood, including rootless. The list of incompatible apps in the stuck thread is good evidence that its not just a bug fix.

    That is is an option to be sure, but at the moment, I'm content in reading what others have to say. I don't have a burning desire to use it and rather not take a chance :)
     
  11. Queen6, Jun 14, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2015

    Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #11
    When you rely on your Mac`s for a living, installing DP1 is simply not prudent on primary systems, even a small problem can cascade into a disaster in a field location. I utilise proprietary engineering applications, likely there will no issue, however if there is, support will be nonexistent.

    Installing on another partition or drive works, equally it`s time absorbing and unless 10.11 in Beta brings a massive jump in productivity there is little incentive outside of curiosity. I will follow 10.11 and watch how it develops, so far it does indeed look very promising. Likely I will upgrade one of my secondary Mac`s (rMB) on commercialisation of 10.11, and take from there.

    Q-6
     
  12. DF1234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #12
    A word of warning. Microsoft Office Preview doesn't work on 10.11 beta 1. You get a message that it isn't compatible. So if you need to use Office on a regular basis, don't use 10.11 as your main driver yet.
     
  13. quackers82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #13
    Odd, works fine on my spare 2014 Air i did a clean install of Yosemite, upgraded to El Capitan, then downloaded Office Preview installed and it worked.
     
  14. DF1234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #14
    Have you upgraded Office to the new version that came out within the last few days? It won't even let me install it on my external hard drive with 10.11 on it.
     
  15. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #15
    I have office preview installed before I upgrade. It's solid, and it's usable, although when select words in word will display a short or long black stripe.
    I didn't update all office applications to the new version, yet.
     
  16. st0k3d macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #16
    I am running it on my primary late 2013 13" rMBP I7 16gb. I think it runs fantastic. Parallels still works good with Windows 10. I had a minor Messages hang up, but deleting and than reattaching my account resolved that. It runs fast and smooth for me.
     
  17. askabob91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #17
    Is it possible to install DP1 and later install the Public Beta over that?
     
  18. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #18
    That's because you are using MBP, not MBA...
    Mine is really slow.
     
  19. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #19
    If you can install DP1, you are set in DP cycle. Right now no one could give you exact answer if PB 1 can be installed over DP 2 or 3 or whatsoever.
     
  20. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #20
    I am amazed at how many dev there are who don't really act as dev yet are installing a dev only install
     
  21. askabob91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #21
    It's not that amazing that people are tempted to install a DP just to get away from the clusterf**k that is Yosemite.
     
  22. Ultracyclist macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #22
    Cant say I fully agree. Metal for example will have noting to do with how your system functions under normal conditions. But off course there are some changes. Would have been pointless to bring out a new version whiteout any changes.

    What I said before I guess is the best option, install on a other partition to check compatibility with your daily mac use...
     
  23. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #23
    When one doesn't involve him or herself in the affairs of others, that have no bearing on one's life, the amazement (read: snide, pious comments) factor is not really amazing.
     
  24. ZXMustang macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #24
    I installed el cap on my Early 15 13" rMBP. Only thing to report is that the restart option does not work. It just shuts down and never boots back up. And when you try to power it back on, the button takes a few presses before it would work. The power on issue was resolved with a PRAM and SMC reset. But the restart option still no workey. Also when I installed El cap over my almost new yosemite, the battery timer was all messed up. Showed 4 hours till empty on a full charge. After that SMC reset, now Im getting the correct 10-11 hours left on a full charge.
     
  25. zOne31 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #25
    Awesome! Really looking towards running PB1 on my MBA soon.
     

Share This Page