I realize the horse is dead, but Matte vs Glossy

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Kalaheo, Aug 2, 2009.

1. Kalaheo macrumors member

Ok, first of all I think I've read every opinion out there. I feel I've reached the end of the internet. So, what I have noted in my research on the matte vs glossy debate is that most people love what they ended up getting. I have also noticed that quite a few people regretted getting glossy. There are also people who will fight to the death that say matte is the only way. Now here's the reason for me continuing to beat the horse. I haven't seen one person say they got the matte and regretted it. Not one! This makes me lean toward the matte. Just so you know I am an amateur photographer, and have decent control over my lighting situations. And, unfortunately I live on the small island of Kauai (ok not so unfortunate), and there is no Apple store here to compare the two.

So, are you out there, people who regret getting matte?

2. suburbia macrumors 6502

The horse is not only dead-- he's reincarnated already, again and again ;)

People are always sensitive about this issue, so personal opinions aside, take practical needs into consideration. I would never purchase glossy because for my work, I need the colors I see on my display to match as closely as possible to what will be printed. It's a practical reason for me to choose matte.

I think you should go for matte as well.

3. rdowns macrumors Penryn

rdowns

So, you've read every opinion out there (including the 36,458 on this site alone) and still felt the need to re-start this inane debate? What is it with Mac owners/potential owners that renders them incapable of making a decision?

/rant

4. Kalaheo thread starter macrumors member