I really dont know where to begin

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Walter Bell, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. Walter Bell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #1
    I have never ever coded or written anything in my life. I am taking an Intro to Logic course which requires us to use a program called Logicola. THe professor swore that he couldnt get it to work on mac, even after following all of the instructions that were provided. Taking the challenge upon myself, I tried to get it to work and was successful. So why am I here? About 90% of my class uses Macs, and I want to create a simple way for them to install the app since I can almost guarantee that none of them even know what the Terminal App is. I think what I want to do is write a script, but I am not sure that is even the correct terminology. Here are the steps that I want to automate for them:

    Open Terminal
    Run: echo export PATH=/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:\$PATH$'\n'export MANPATH=/opt/local/man:\$MANPATH | sudo tee -a /etc/profile
    Run: sudo port install wine-devel
    Run: cd desktop/logicola
    Run: wine LCSetup.exe

    These steps are needed to install the application. Then I want to create a shortcut for them to launch the application without having to go into terminal every time. The command is as follows:

    Open Terminal
    Run: cd ~/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/LogiCola
    Run: wine logicola.exe

    When I use the word Run:, I mean I input that command line into my terminal. Like I said, I was able to do all this manually, but is there a way to automate it for my classmates? If someone can point me in the right direction as to what I am trying to do, that would be great. I think I lack the terminology to properly search. I dont know if I am creating a Shell Script, a Script, etc.

    Edit: I am also using Automater in which I have it set to open terminal, but I don't know how to get it to execute the files that I have. I have made 4 .txt files of each line of code/command (again forgive my lack of knowing the correct terminology), which I am not sure is the right thing to do, but did the chmod a+x (file name) to make them executable. However I don't know how to get Automater to make them run.

    I appreciate any help.
    Thanks,
    Walter
     
  2. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #2
    The best solution is to not install individual Wine instances on each machine but make a Wine wrapper with the engine and application: http://wineskin.doh123.com/
     
  3. Hansr, Aug 24, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011

    Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
  4. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    Works for me! (On a 10.7.2 machine that has never had Wine installed on it.)

    It hung for about 30 seconds w/ CPU at 100% (with a blank white screen), but just as I was about to give up, it worked. :)
     
  5. Walter Bell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #5
  6. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #6
    It's just a Wineskin wrapper as per link above.
     
  7. Walter Bell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #7
    Thanks!

    2nd question. My professor wants us to install this on a flash drive, in which we turn it into him to be graded. After installing it onto a flash drive (and also my computer), it ran just fine. However when I took to open the Logicola app on my iMac from the flash drive, it wouldnt run. I assume its because I have to run the .pkg file on every computer that wants to run Logicola.

    If a user were to have a PC with the windows version of logicola installed, and I gave them my flashdrive, would they be able to open the program off my flash drive? Unfortunately I don't have a PC to test this out on.

    Thanks,
    Walter
     
  8. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #8
    The files should be accessible, the Windows access would depend on how the files are saved. I can try it tonight and see if it works. Will post back once I've had a chance to test.
     
  9. Walter Bell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
  10. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #10
    Copied it to USB and it ran fine on my Mac from there. Connected to Windows and accessed it in
    USBDRIVE:/LogicCola.app/Contents/Resources/drive_c/Program Files/LogiCola/LogiCola.exe

    [​IMG]

    There is no need to install on each machine but you need to wait a bit for Wine to reconfigure:
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page