I really messed up...

Heather

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 12, 2006
4
0
:eek: I accidently dumped about 600 jpegs on the desktop at one time. Now these jpegs have piled up on my HD icon and taken complete control of my finder. Relaunching the finder does nothing, and even when I did a hard shut down when I logged back on the jpegs were back to their same ol' tricks. I can do anything not involving the finder (like typing this post), but as far as getting into the hard drive, shutting down, sleeping, deleting the damn files or anything like that, I am helpless as a baby. My hard drive has been spinning over time for the last couple hours and there doesn't seem to be anything I can do about it. :(
Help!
 

realityisterror

macrumors 65816
Aug 30, 2003
1,354
0
Snellville, GA
So you have no control of the Finder?

Well, what do you want to do with them? Both moving and deleting all of them is an easy task via the Terminal.

If you want to move all .jpg's on the Desktop to a folder called "junk" inside of your "pictures" folder for example:
mv ~/Desktop/*.jpg ~/Pictures/junk/

If you're fine with just deleting all of them:
rm -r ~/Desktop/*.jpg

Good luck
 

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
22,910
41
Andover, MA
Just to be clear - to open Terminal, go to your Applications->Utilities folder or type ⌘-spacebar, then type in "Terminal" and click the first thing.

And I'd recommend against using that second command. Too easy to mistype and delete the wrong files if you're not careful.
 

thejadedmonkey

macrumors G3
May 28, 2005
8,050
683
Pennsylvania
jsw said:
Just to be clear - to open Terminal, go to your Applications->Utilities folder or type ⌘-spacebar, then type in "Terminal" and click the first thing.

And I'd recommend against using that second command. Too easy to mistype and delete the wrong files if you're not careful.
Wouldn't getting to terminal involve using the finder?
 

Heather

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 12, 2006
4
0
Thanks for the replies. I was able to access the terminal through launchbar, but the commands don't do anything. It is like the jpegs are just frozen on my desktop. I can't move them, highlight them, or anything like that. They are officially a part of my desktop picture. :confused:
Any other ideas?
 

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
22,910
41
Andover, MA
First, if you can go back into Terminal, type:
Code:
ls ~/Desktop
and see if they're really there. If they aren't, a reboot (or, likely, log out/log in) should do the trick. If they are, we need to check the commands you typed. Please report back. :)
 

realityisterror

macrumors 65816
Aug 30, 2003
1,354
0
Snellville, GA
Hmm... I hesitate to recommend this... but...

Boot up in single user mode (hold Command-S at start up)

At the prompt type the same command with absolute paths:

mv /Users/username/Desktop/*.jpg /Users/username/Pictures/junk/

Then type:
reboot

Just be very careful, and perhaps wait to see if anyone else has any suggestions less potentially dangerous :eek:
 

angelneo

macrumors 68000
Jun 13, 2004
1,541
0
afk
If you have a second Mac and a firewire, you can try booting your desktop into hard disk mode (press "T" while booting), connect it to your second computer, use your second computer to go into the desktop's hard disk, look for your desktop and delete all the images.
 

Heather

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 12, 2006
4
0
To JSW: Thanks for your idea. I tried it and yes, they are all there. I have already tried rebooting (hard shut down is the only way I could do it), and it didn't help at all.
To realityisterror: Thanks for the idea. I will keep it in mind if all else fails:)
To angelneo: I don't have a second mac.

I am just going to ride it out for now. Maybe my mac will finish the task in a few hours, or a few years...:rolleyes:
 

Heather

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 12, 2006
4
0
Thanks!

realityisterror, it turns out that your suggestion was on the money. What I didn't do last time I typed in the command was verify that I wanted to override the placement of the jpeg on my desktop... for every single jpeg. So basically I had to agree to override for every one of over 600 jpegs, but after that everything went back to normal and I shall never make this mistake again. Thanks so much to all of you for your ideas :cool: :cool: