I received my new MacBook Pro today!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Rilely, Oct 20, 2008.

1. Rilely macrumors member

Well, after an extremely anticipated wait, I finally received my MacBook Pro today! I thought I would do my part to give a small review of the design and display.

Background:
    I would like to preface this review by saying that I am not a graphics arts professional and I have no experience in computer digital imagery. I do like to do some minor photography and web design, but it is not on a professional scale.

Also, the MacBook Pro I received was the high-end MacBook Pro with the discrete 9600M GT graphics card. The only change I made to the order was a upgraded 320GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive. Also, I only use the computer in high performance mode, leveraging the 9600M GT Graphics card.

Design:
    I have to admit that I am blown away by the new design. When I first saw the images online, I have to admit I was not very impressed. That being said, the laptop is MUCH nicer in person. The black and aluminum contrast go together very well and I can safely say this does not look nor feel like a HP PC of any kind. The keyboard is different, but I am getting use to it as we speak. So far I don't notice any big difference in my typing speed, but I might agree that the old keypad was more comfortable. Sometimes I feel like I'm "reaching" for some of the keys. With all keyboards though, you will get use to it, so it is a minor gripe.

Display: