I recently got a macbook, but need to run windows on it. OEM? retail? help...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ogonzal, Jan 30, 2010.

1. ogonzal macrumors newbie

I recently got a macbook and im still learning how to use it. I need to run some programs on widows and i was told that i could run windows on my mac.

I have done some shopping but all the windows operating systems but i am not sure which ones i can or cannot install on my mac. I have a budget of only $100 for this. Could you guys tell me where i can find any windows operating system for less than $100 that would work on my macbook?

i am new to the whole OEM Windows thing so im not sure if i should buy a OEM or a retail one which are much more expensive.

Thanks so much for the help.

2. iwillrefuse macrumors newbie

Are you a student? The cheapest way of getting your hands on the ONLY Windows OS version I can recommend (7) can be had for well less than $100 here: http://www.microsoft.com/student/en/us/software/windows-7.aspx

If not, NewEgg.com offers the OEM home version of 7 for $105, in either 32 or 64 bit incarnations. For Boot Camp, I would recommend the 32-bit iteration.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...52&cm_re=windows_7_oem-_-32-116-752-_-Product

The install process is very easy, and there are loads of tutorials online if you search for them.

3. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008

Boot Campe is your friend, and apparently it seems, your savior. Just follow the instructions (it can be found in the Utilities folder under Applications) and you'll be fine. Be sure to have your grey restore discs (in the black folder thing in the packaging) to install drivers.