I Screwed up cydia big time (I think?!?)

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by iPh0ne 0s4, Jan 3, 2011.

1. iPh0ne 0s4, Jan 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011

iPh0ne 0s4 macrumors newbie

First of all, this is my first time posting on this site :D, View other posts, never did it myself. Second I'm an idiot, read on to understand why!:mad:

OK, now my problem, hopefully someone technically savvy can help me.
    1- Yesterday I had a problem where every package I installed, or source I added would give me an error, and clear both my "manage - sources, &Packages"
    --EDIT-- solved #1 (was a ihackstore source problem ;p Other problems still persist)

2- Trying to fix this, I played around in SSH, and iFile, but to no avail, so being quickly stupid (and also being like 2:AM) I deleted the files within /var/lib/
    ... yes all of it.

3- Now I had a major problem, even worse than before. So again, I started playing around, and manually trying to "reinstall" the files I deleted from a deb file of cydia and its essentials I found online. With some success I have cydia running again, with the "manage - sources" working, but not the "packages."

4- When I load the Cydia tab in cydia, I get the red box, which I believe is a pretty old bug, from when icy was still installable via jailbreak software. In the box it states "Your copy of Cydia does not know what version it is, itself running" Again this is an old problem, apparently because of a corrupted status file in the directory /var/lib/dpkg/.

- I seem to have hit a wall, where I cannot do much more on my own.
    Please if anyone knows how I can fix the corrupted file status, or even easier, just uninstall and reinstall cydia manually, (and correctly). Please give a step-by-step instruction.

:apple:=Any Questions please feel free to ask=:apple:

***I DO NOT WANT TO RESTORE WITH ITUNES, IT IS MY LAST CHOICE IF I MUST***

-------info----------
    iPhone4
    iOS 4.1(8B117)