Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Danbob01

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2012
Hi guys,

Here is the deal. I am a technology teacher so I know my way around most devices really well. I swear by apple products and know a pretty good amount about using and fixing them. I went to jailbreak my personal iPad 2 and went through the process. Everything worked perfectly, but then all of a sudden after I powered it off and turned it on again after using it in its newly jail broken state and tweaking it a bunch, nothing worked, apps were misplaced, and all of the jailbreak related apps were frozen and so were my settings. I restored th iPad back to stock and got rid of the jailbreak and everything is perfect again. What could have caused this, and what can I do to prevent it from happening again because it was annoying. I want to re jailbreak the device, but also do not want to deal with this happening ever again. I know most people do not have any problems with it, so I want to know what I did wrong. I have searched and there was no specific information that came up about this type of jailbreak problem. Also wanted to know if I can permanently kill my iPad by doing this. Thanks in advance!

gotluck

macrumors 603
Dec 8, 2011
East Central Florida
you mention 'tweaking it a bunch' - there was likely some unstable or incompatible tweak installed which resulted in problems. Sometimes you can remove the tweak, sometimes you have to restore. I have not heard of any cases of jailbreaking and its tweaks destroying an idevice. Flashing basebands (for unlocking) can cause irreversible damage.

You have to be a little careful of what you install outside of apples 'walled garden', it isn't always bug free.

Danbob01

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2012