I stumped the Mac Geniuses...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by chelsel, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. chelsel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #1
    Admittedly, I didn't try too hard... I had a simple question concerning dual-monitor setups and I couldn't get a clear answer even after they went into the back room...

    The question is... if I'm using an application like Photoshop which has multiple panels/windows can I drag the application to another monitor in a multi-monitor setup... and this is key... by ONLY moving ONE window... not by moving each individual panel??

    I know this is a piece of cake to do in Windows as all the panels/sub-windows reside in a "main" window and I just have to drag the main window to whichever monitor I choose...

    I figured I'd ask in the Windows on Mac forum as there are probably more people experienced with both operating systems that will know what I'm talking about...

    Thanks,
    Cliff.
     
  2. -Alan- macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    #2
    The answer is no. Unlike Windows, the application runs from the actual desktop. As a result, the menu bar at the top of the main monitor changes with each application as it's brought into focus. It takes a little while to get used to. And the larger the monitor the more it becomes a noticeable.

    So basically, if you are using an application where you need to use the menu bar a lot, it is best to use the main monitor where the menu bar is located.
     
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    And Alan is correct. My guess is they're stumped because it's not an Apple app. That'd be my excuse!
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Or, they aren't real geniuses. The real talent doesn't work at an Apple Store.
     
  5. Genghis Khan macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    too true

    but, yeah..it unfourtunate that a program started on mac had now all but completely abondoned it:(
     
  6. juanm macrumors 65816

    juanm

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Fury 161
    #6
    Uh... really? :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page