I switched just for you guys.

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by CarlsonCustoms, Mar 4, 2008.

  1. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #1
    I was on the totally rad show folding team but now on my PS3 i switched over to my mac brethren.

    Let's find a cure,

    GO TEAM

    Zack
     
  2. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #2
    you rock, oh yeah and Welcome to the team!

    i LOVE the pics of the home theater by the way. can't believe you can fit that much in an apartment, and glad i'm not in apartments anymore as your neighbor! :eek: best of luck with the sale.

    PS3 is a load and go, but if you end up with anything else to fold to victory on and have questions, please let us know. thanks.
     
  3. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #4
    thanks for joining us! we need all the help we can get. our team just got passed by 2 teams this week :(
     
  4. sjjordan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    I also joined the team. I've got 2 C2D 2.16Ghz iMacs running. They'll be folding 24/7. Hopefully this'll help out!
     
  5. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    thanks! we need you! those are some nice machines also, that should help out a lot.
     
  6. CarlsonCustoms thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #7
    What client are you guys using on your macs? I went to the stanford site to download their mac client and all I got was a page not found error. There download list works but when you click to actually download the program the page isn't found.

    Zack
     
  7. snap58 macrumors 6502

    snap58

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    somewhere in kansas
    #8
    I am using the SMP 6.10 beta2 on the C2D's, works great.

    This page?

    http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download
     
  8. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #9
    I have a C2D mini and a quad Xeon Dell Poweredge (linux) sitting idle most of the day.

    Anyone know how to run folding on them with an override when I need them and am away from home?

    I am sure my whole setup would get smoked by a PS3, but I would love to help if I can.
     
  9. GoKyu macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #10
    I joined up maybe 2 weeks ago and I jumped from like 850+ already up to 237...I keep Folding running on my Mac Pro 24/7, and the nice thing is, it really crunches the numbers, but I *never* feel any kind of lag from it :)

    I was wondering, does this Folding project help at all with diabetes? I didn't specifically see anything about that disease on their site, and I have a few really close friends who have it...

    -Bryan
     
  10. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #11
    not listed as a current study by stanford, but all folding research will help advance all knowledge of related disease. diabetes has been linked to mis-folded proteins, and work is ongoing by other universities. LINK to one of the more current results.

    thanks for folding.
     
  11. sjjordan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    United States
    #12
    Guys, we just got passed by another team this week! My small 3000 points/day isn't picking up the slack.
     
  12. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #13
    yeah, it keep messing up on my mac pro, so i'm now only folding with my PS3
     
  13. meeble macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    #14
    its working fine on a couple of MacPro's for me - what exactly is happening?
     
  14. sjjordan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    United States
    #15
    Woot! Just made the top 100 on team MacRumors!

    This is addicting!

    MUST FIND MORE MACHINES!
     
  15. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #16
    haha. good work!
     
  16. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #17
    Looks like the team is losing ground. I haven't folded in years, and I just started again, but boy, we are not gaining on anybody! :(
     
  17. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #18
    yeah i know. we just don't have enough people. i was folding, then i wasn't, now i am again, for now at least.
     
  18. meeble macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    #19
    losing ground

    yeah, but the whole project is not!
     
  19. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #20
    I've been curious about F@H recently. I've got a Mac Pro idle for most of the day that I'd love to contribute... do I need to do anything aside from getting the program from the website and turning it on in system prefs... my viewer only shows a demo, is there something more I should be doing, this makes me think so.
     
  20. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #21
    pretty much you just install it, turn it on in system prefs, and that's it.
     
  21. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #22
    I'm losing track of the Mac HW details, is yours the dual-core dual-CPU system? if so, you can download an SMP-version of the application that can use the dual processors. I forget where the link was, but you get to it from the Folding homepage.

    I might add my iMac to my PowerBook and my work PC, and I think I have an old PC sitting under my desk at home.
     
  22. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    For those of you using the SMP client, are you finding that you have to run pretty much 24/7 in order to make the work unit deadlines?
     
  23. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #24
    I'm using the InCrease client, which on my iMac started using the SMP core. The deadlines are tights, and I am probably going to switch to the normal client when I am done with the current unit and just kick off two local cores. That way I have a normal deadline, and both cores work when the iMac is on.
     
  24. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #25
    I did notice that the SMP deadlines are tight, but if you run the normal client, it is PPC only, and the points you get are low. Boo!
     

Share This Page