I think I have a brick...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Hujuman, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. Hujuman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #1
    Ok. So I had an iPhone 3G that was working on 2.1 - and being excited about the new whizz-bang of OS 3.0 I decided to upgrade. I used redsn0w (2.7) on a MacBook Pro running Leopard, activated Ultrasn0w and all was well. For an hour or so. My phone then froze on the slide to unlock screen and rebooted itself, over and over. So I restored back to stock firmware (thinking that maybe redsn0w was bad for me) and decided to try pwnage tool. Again, worked like a charm, again for an hour or so, then we were back to the slide to unlock, apple logo reboot cycle. Now I can't even restore back to the stock firmware for some reason - when I do, after it has 'restored' and the phone has rebooted it's stuck on the DFU slide for emergency screen for a while and then reboots again! It's driving me crazy. And I cannot think what I can do to get out of this situation.

    Please, ANY help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. eezing macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #2
    If you haven't already done so, restore using true DFU back to 3.0 firmware via iTunes (no jailbreak). After firmware has been installed, do not restore from previous backup (start fresh). If that doesn't work, then try the same thing on a different computer.
     
  3. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #3
    Hi thanks for the response. I did actually try both of these suggestions. I could get the phone into DFU mode and it seemed as though it was installing, after the phone rebooted itself though it was back on the emergency screen, I also tried using a different MacBook and then even tried on a Windows XP machine. Still at this point no luck. Cannot restore to 3.0 via iTunes.
     
  4. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
  5. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #5
    This is the screen that I'm getting BUT it also has 'Slide for emergency' at the bottom!

    [​IMG]
     
  6. thaliagoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    #6
    Hmm, I don't have any advice for your case but the "Slide to emergency call" screen is what I got after I restored since I am using a T-mobile sim card. i think it was the same screen you showed above (not 100% positive but it definitely only let me make emergency calls). After I jailbroke, it let me in the home screen (factory settings) and then I unlocked via ultrasnow to use my phone with T-mobile. I don't know why yours stopped working after an hour. It seems very strange.

    I think the "slide to emergency call" screen there b/c it thinks the phone hasn't been activated.

    I would just double check everything. Maybe re-download redsnow, iphone OS, and do it on another computer. It *should* work. Read and re-read instructions (altho I'm sure you've already done that). I don't have a mac computer tho-- I used the Windows version :-o
     
  7. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #7
    Ok so I used a USB hub - and I was able to successfully restore the phone to stock firmware. Lets hope all goes well from here. Though I still can't figure out why it only works for an hour or so...
     
  8. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #9
    Ok this time I managed to get past the connect to iTunes screen (turns out that was because I needed to use a USB hub) now I have a situation where the phone works perfectly for a couple of hours and then gets stuck on the slide to unlock screen and then enters a reboot cycle. Ideas anyone?
     
  9. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #10
    This goes from bad to worse. So the USB thing doesn't in fact work after all. I just must have been lucky. Again I'm back to the point where I try to restore to stock and all seems to be great up until the point where the phone is supposed to reboot itself after restoring. Well it does, but instead of getting the activate phone screen - it freezes with a white screen. And stays like this. It's after I manually reboot it that it goes to the recovery mode screen with the slide for emergency at the bottom. Which is a weird combo - and just gets stuck there and then goes into a reboot cycle. :mad:
     
  10. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #11
    I had problems yesterday using windows when i used my mac it was perfect the first time....Mine works perfect 24 hours later.
     
  11. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    Are you using Mac software 10.5.6 ?

    If so, yes, you will always need a powered USB hub

    Update to 10.5.7 to remove the problem.
     
  12. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #13
    Thanks but I'm on 10.5.7 and I have a powered USB hub. I'm totally baffled.
     
  13. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #14
    Try a different Mac to restore to stock 3.0. I had a problem with my main desktop machine not wanting to restore, even the Stock IPSW.

    Moved my phone over to my Dell Mini 9 Hackintosh and restored from there, set the phone up as NEW, and then went back to my mini and restored JUST A BACK-UP.

    Not sure what the differences in the two machines are-they are both running 10.5.7, so maybe it is the Dell USB port responding differently than the "real" Apple port?!? Doesn't really make sense, you would think USB is USB, but this did work for me,

    Then did redsn0w and all seems well.
     
  14. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #15
    I just tried to do a stock restore on an XP machine too. I'm still getting the connect to iTunes and slide for emergency weird combo screen. It also has a battery indicator and a lock symbol at the top. I forgot to mention that earlier. Not sure if it's going to mean anything to anyone. It's like it's stuck between two phases.
     
  15. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #16
    Have you tried to put it into DFU mode? Sorry, haven't read this whole thread.
     
  16. instaxgirl macrumors 65816

    instaxgirl

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #17
    My phone got stuck like this. Well, not exactly. Basically I got stuck on the same screen you've got and it would not restore using a custom firmware or other, I downgraded and reinstalled iTunes and all sorts of japes to no avail.

    I swapped to using a PC, it restored to 3.0 and then used redsn0w on the PC and I've been fine since.

    I think you've done all that though :( Are you under warranty?
     
  17. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #18
    No worries! Yes I've put into DFU mode so many times now that I can do it with my eyes closed!

    @instaxgirl - I wish I were under warranty. Unfortunately though I live in China right now and 'technically' the iPhone is not available. At least within the mainland. :(
     
  18. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #19
    Hmm I guess if I were you I would try and get to another Mac. Believe me, I KNOW HOW YOU FEEL.

    I was freaking when I couldn't get mine to restore, and then it just did, first try, when I tried a different Mac.
     
  19. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #20
    Ok everyone - thanks for adding input here. So at 3 am (Beijing time) my phone was still stuck on the connect to iTunes/Restore screen and I'd had enough and so went to bed - leaving the phone switched on. When I awoke at 9 am I saw that the phone was responsive and saying insert sim. Great you might think. Proceeded to jailbreak with redsn0w, and unlocked with Ultrasn0w. Perfect. Synced my email accounts and added one app (contact sync). Then added SBSprefs via cydia to shut of EDGE here in China. All was working great, packed my bags to head off to work, I get off the subway and BAM - I'm now on a frozen slide to unlock screen. Seriously? Is this thing here to test my patience?
     
  20. thaliagoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    #21
    Hmm- what I would do if I were you is just do a simple restore. Then I'd wait a day or two to see if it locks up on me. If that works, at least then you can trace the source of the problem to the jailbreaking process or possibly one of your apps. If it doesn't work with a simple restore, it may be more than a software issue.

    Also, can you downgrade to what you had before (2.1)?
     
  21. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #22
    I've been trying to do a simple restore. But at the point when the phone should reboot after the restore it seems to give me slide to emergency screen, and is unresponsive.
     
  22. Hujuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #23
    Ok folks, good news (so far)

    I managed to successfully restore my phone back to stock firmware. It was basically a case of waiting for the reboot cycle to end. Sometimes this could be a couple minutes other times a few hours. I then used Redsn0w, installed cydia (with a complete upgrade) and installed Ultrasn0w. That was over eight hours ago. Now I'm not saying it's fixed it but, this is the longest that it's gone without locking up. The only thing that I did differently was to not install SBSettings, as I had a feeling that this could have been the culprit.

    So, fingers crossed!
     
  23. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #24
    Glad you got your phone working!

    I am using SBSettings on a 1G iPod Touch and an iPhone 3G without any problems, so I think you can remove that one from your list of possible issues.
     
  24. Majakat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #25
    that is screen isnt that weird is it? i got it with both my used phones when it didnt recognize the sim and wanted to activate...
     

Share This Page