i think i have a virus or something on my new macbook

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by thats awkward, Jul 5, 2008.

  1. thats awkward macrumors newbie

    thats awkward

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #1
    i went to a sketchy website, and i shouldn't have gone, i should have read the signs.. but once it came up many pop up boxes appeared saying 'click OK to continue, or click Cancel to return to this screen" and whenever i hit cancel it just brought up another one, and i couldn't do anything so i clicked OK till they were gone and left the site. i should and just turned off my computer, clicking OK could have been the trigger. but ANYWAY, now, i was using garage band, and it locked up, just constantly skipping, and then the whole computer was constantly clicking and skipping and i had to hold down the mouse key to pull down the menu to shut it down... and when i turn it back one it seems fine.. but its done that twice in the past 5 hours since i visited the site.... any help, comments, ideas, or knowledge would be much appreciated. :(

    my AIM screen name is xratrider.

    thanks. :apple:
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    well there are currently no known viruses for OS X. worst case is you downloaded a trojan. but you would've had to run that to really affect your system. are you still using the browser when this happens?

    if so it could be a cache/cookies issue. try reseting safari/firefox/camino etc and see if that helps.

    at least thats the first thing that comes to mind for me right now.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Not likely a virus, but you can download ClamXav (free) and do a scan

    You didn't use your administrator password at any time did you?

    Yeah, what POD said... reset your browser too

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. thats awkward thread starter macrumors newbie

    thats awkward

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #4
    thanks

    thanks for the help.
    ill get that scanning thing and check that out.

    and i dont think my browser was up, but I'm not sure...
    ill try reseting safari... that should be simple ..i think
     
  5. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #5
    to reset safari

    go to the menubar > safari drop down > reset safari.

    so simple, yes.
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    On the menu bar under "Safari" is "reset Safari"
    Couldn't be simpler

    Edit: Doh... beaten out by POD again!

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  7. thats awkward thread starter macrumors newbie

    thats awkward

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #7
    again

    thanks again, but i figured that one out on my own :)

    um, under the things it reset, it said it would reset my google searches, but it didn't...
     
  8. thats awkward thread starter macrumors newbie

    thats awkward

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #8
    thanks again for the help. i ran the scan on safari and on garage band and there was nothing.

    i feel better now, so, thank you a ton.
    i was kinda overreacting probably... but it IS a nice computer, so yah.

    i just hope i dont have that problem again.

    thanks
    -Mitch
     
  9. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    As my momma always used to say... stay away from pr0n sites ;)

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  10. phalewhale macrumors 6502a

    phalewhale

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #10
    Wouldn't this be something MacScan could have showed up? I'm sure that scans for trojans etc. Not sure what it is like though as a program...
     

Share This Page