I think I have bought the wrong ram, please help.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rossikool, Jan 27, 2013.

1. rossikool macrumors newbie

by mistake I have bought, http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200787930158?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1 497.l2649 which is 2.4ghz ram for my early 2011 macbook pro which has only 2.3ghz will it still work in my macbook even though they are different ghz's.

I emailed the compant for this instead, http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/8GB-RAM-Memory-for-Apple-MacBook-Pro-2-3GHz-Intel-Core -i5-13-inch-DDR3-Ea-/200787930264?pt=UK_Computing_ComputerComponents_MemoryRAM_J N&hash=item2ebfe4ac98 but then noticed that this just 1 moduel of 8gb ram and not 2 lots for 4gb ram.

Will 2 different sticks of ram work like one of my current 2gb + 8gb=10gb.

I am new to upgrading thats all thank you.

Do the macbook and ram GHZ's have to match up?

2. snaky69 macrumors 603

Processor speed and RAM speed have no relation to each other whatsoever.

RAM works more efficiently and faster in matched pairs, thus you're better off getting two sticks of the model rather than one of each type. Not doing so will work, but you will lose dual channel ability.

RAM is RAM, buy whatever specs your machine needs. The early 2011 needs 1333MHz DDR3 SO-DIMMs, so long as that's what you're buying, all is well.

3. Spink10 macrumors 601

Spink10

That RAM will work - it is generally not recommended to use 2 + 8 sticks - matching sticks are better. May or may not work.

4. simsaladimbamba

The RAM is not dependent on the CPU frequency (GHz) of the computer, it is dependent on the right type (DDR3) and form factor (SO-DIMM with 204 pins) and bus frequency (1333 MHz), thus the RAM you linked to first will work.

Also know, that 2011 MBPs can take up 16 GB RAM using two 204-pin DDR3 SO-DIMM RAM modules of 8 GB capacity. But using one 8 GB module and one 2 GB module does also work until you can get another 8 GB module.

5. rossikool thread starter macrumors newbie