i think im getting the shaft

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by mclinkus, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. mclinkus macrumors newbie

    mclinkus

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    indianna
    #1
    hey

    today im info hunting i found this site with a thread not to far away that asked simaler questions to what i need.

    i didnt want to hijack that guys thread so i started my own.

    i hope for the same kindness that guy got.

    here goes

    i have a vbulletin based site on a dedicated server.

    Intel P4 2.8 Ghz CPU
    512 Mb RAM
    80 GB IDE Hard Drive
    Fully Managed
    1000/month bandwidth
    Cpanels or DirectAdmin(opt)

    is the package i have.

    my questions begin here.

    how many members should that type of server be able to handle at 1 time?

    how many member should that type of server be bale to handle in 1 day?

    my site has about 1400 registered members

    we have had only 378 members in one day

    and only 180 or members at one time.

    and our site gets soooo slow.

    we are supposed to be on a dedicated box.. but me and my partners have concerns

    a reverse ip shows 40 other sites on our box.

    when i asked the provider he simply said you have root access to the box if you dont belive me check for your self.

    well. frankly im not that smart. and 2nd im a bit scared to do anythign with the server. anytime ( there have been 4 times) we even get close to phpmyadmin the site crashes and we have to run a restore from a back up.

    i asked about this the provider said we have reached our boxs max

    last night for no apparnt reason the site just shut down when i tried to run a restore

    i got this error
    Unable to execute your request

    Details

    Unable to restore database ftaview_vb33.sql to ftaview_vb33 : ERROR 1040 (08004): Too many connections
    Unable to restore database ftaview_wiki.sql to ftaview_wiki : ERROR 1040 (00000): Too many connections



    i really feel like either im to stipid to have a website or im gettign the shaft

    we pay 189$ a month for this box. and frankly only 1 month out of 8 have we felt like we were getting what we paid for.

    now we are a member supported site ( our members donate either from a raffle or just casue) to pay the bills and we are barley sqeeking allong finacianly

    we want and have recenlty gained the opportunity to grow more but we are holding off untill we know what is going on.

    in the fortay we are in if we sit stagnant to long we will loose that chance

    i hope this isnt long winded i just need help..

    thanks for reading

    'link

    ps


    knox i hope you see this..

    it was your response to that other guy that made me sign up here.

    ( i kinda feel like a stalker.. sorry im not on though)


    'link
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    That RAM in that machine is definitely low for that kind of load. Increasing it to 1GB will help immensely, but won't solve all your problems.

    Regardless, your paying way too much. I've been with my data center for nearly a year now and they have been fabulous. Quick responses to support, very little downtime and some of the best prices I've seen.

    This is their dedicated server page: http://www.thenynoc.com/dedicated.htm
     
  3. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #3
    That server cannot possibly work well enough for you with those specs... and if it DOES have those other sites it'd be even worse. I use VBulletin, and it's nothing like that. But my main suspicion?
    It was the reply from the company. If what you said was a quote ("You have root access, check for yourself") then I would look into a new solution. Does that sound like a company that cares about you? Perhaps 189 bucks could be put to better use elsewhere. Think about making your OWN VB site. VB is not that expensive, and I'll bet you have a better box laying around not doing anything.
    I might be way off base here due to lack of all the facts here... but I'm very suspicious.
     
  4. mclinkus thread starter macrumors newbie

    mclinkus

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    indianna
    #4
    thanks for the replys so far..

    yes that server dosnt seem to work verry well for me.

    yes that provider does not treat me verry well. i have wanted to leave to since my 3rd month.

    im just about 100% sure i can buy better all around service for the 189$ im currnelty paying

    my biggest problem is i dont know where to go .. who to go too.. im just scarfed.

    last week i tried to change providers to who i thought was an outstanding offshore server. only to find out they wernt verry knowledgable in direct admin and said they couldnt transfer our database ( its 5 gig) a whole new set of problems.

    anyway.

    now here i am . wishing i had a server that i love and dont have to think about.

    all i want is a server that i dont need to worry about..

    i have since delayed all recreuitng and am still getitng 100 new users a day over the last 5 days.. we got 200 noobs on the 24th and since then have been growing everyday.

    i want to worry bout my site .. not the server..

    so if i added more memory to the box i have.. would that help??
     
  5. ChrisWB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    My advice would be to look for a new host. I would look at SoftLayer for an unmanaged solution and WiredTree or SteadFast for a managed server.
     
  6. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I know how you feel. Running a site shouldn't mean spending hours tricking a machine to do what you want, but sometimes that's how it has to be.

    Adding memory would probably help. I'd need to see what the current CPU/Memory usage actually is, but that's my best guess. The likely case is that you'd still have a high CPU load though, and therefore still have problems.

    Regardless, your current host sounds terrible and is overcharging you quite a bit. I mentioned my host (The New York NOC) in my previous post. They are excellent and I'm sure they would be glad to help you transfer your site. If your interested I can ask them about it for you, or you could just visit their site at http://thenynoc.com. It never hurts to get a quote.
     
  7. mclinkus thread starter macrumors newbie

    mclinkus

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    indianna
    #7
    taken form vb admin control panel

    Uptime exec(uptime)

    19:24:51 up 86 days, 20:53, 1 user, load average: 5.60, 6.58, 6.64


    Server Load file_get_contents("/proc/loadavg")

    Server Loads: 5.60 6.58 : 6.64


    Memory Usage exec(free -m)

    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 1003 961 41 0 54 324
    -/+ buffers/cache: 581 421
    Swap: 1027 12 1015


    Free Disk Space exec(df -h)

    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda6 981M 124M 807M 14% /
    /dev/hda1 99M 11M 83M 12% /boot
    none 502M 0 502M 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/hda8 93G 14G 75G 15% /home
    /dev/hda7 981M 22M 910M 3% /tmp
    /dev/hda2 9.7G 1.1G 8.1G 12% /usr
    /dev/hda3 4.9G 1.8G 2.8G 40% /var


    Show php info with phpinfo()

    MySQL Stats mysql_stat()
    Uptime: 164475
    Threads: 6
    Questions: 5166306
    Slow queries: 64
    Opens: 463755
    Flush tables: 1
    Open tables: 64
    Queries per second avg: 31.411


    this was taken today..and we are very slow right now. its a little shy of average for us.

    i really dont know what any of this means..

    and will be looking for a busy time to compare too..

    'link
     
  8. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    The server load (CPU usage) is way too high. 1-2 is the highest it should ever be. Your ram is completely max out. This server needs a faster CPU and more RAM, or some crazy optimization of some sort in the software.

    I think its time to look for a new server.
     
  9. mclinkus thread starter macrumors newbie

    mclinkus

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    indianna
    #9
    so i bought a package from the noc

    im hoping they are as freindly as the rep i spoke with last night was.

    they are in the midst of transfering us now.

    thanks for the recomendation

    id still love to here some more on the sevrer loads i asked about.

    but i understand that isnt this sites fortay

    thanks all aagian

    'link
     
  10. Cheese macrumors 6502

    Cheese

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    In the refrigerated section at your grocer
    #10
    I can't help wondering what some people think they are doing. If I am a welder, wouldn't I want to do work that would increase the general public's confidence in the welding process? So why are some people ripping others off with the prospect of running into some new businees by marketing their goods on the internet. Because e-business is such an open market to theivery in the first place, it is the duty of every administrator to provide every customer with measurable results. If you are so overworked that you cannot monitor the work you have already promised for results, then you simply should not take on more work. The shameful truth is that very few web-guru types actually care about more than how well your check cashes.

    We are trapped in a Windoze world. What bothers me is how so many people seem happy to remain with the ship, even after it has proven to be on a course to the depths.
    No one should fall prey to these serpents.
    If I was a web provider, I would be sure to provide. Performance indicators would be tracked. If I was spending ANY amount of time working on the server instead of the site, I would fire them.
     
  11. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    ASmallOrange are highly recommended and offer Virtual Private Servers. Whether that would satisfy your needs I'm not sure, but they are very friendly so I'm sure you can ask.
     
  12. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #12
    Really? 1-2 is the maximum? I am always wondering how much should I aim for in my server, Right now, it's constantly sitting at around 2++, and my user base is constanly increasing... My next upgrade is going to become very expensive.
     
  13. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    Well.. ideally. You bring up a good point; cost. I have a almost unlimited budget, and speed is a major factor in my buying decisions. The maximum load on any given server may different, and probably varies with real-world uses.

    My suggestion would be base the maximum load on the point its functionality decreases severely. Pages should load quickly on fast connections, there shouldn't be any crashes and there shouldn't be any weird errors in applications or services. 2+ is too high for me, but it might work fine for you.
     
  14. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #14
    Hmm.. thanks for the info, the next upgrade on my plan is just a cpu upgrade, I would probably ask for a faster harddisk with additional ram, this would be my third time upgrading, setting up all those cron jobs, backup scripts is getting tedious...

    I'm seriously thinking of clustering.

    oops, sorry to hijack this thread :eek: :eek: :eek:
     

Share This Page