I think Im missing something using a flashed ATV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Elvisdavidson, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Elvisdavidson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #1
    So I went here http://code.google.com/p/atvusb-creator/ created my patch stick image rebooted ATV with it. It installed fine. I then went to launcher and downloaded XBMC. I then plugged a 300 gb usb external drive into the back of ATV. I am lost i cant not seem to make XBMC find the files. Am I missing something like downloading a plugin or something. Correct me if Im wrong but shouldnt I be able to access the files with it connected to the ATV. Im not an idiot when it comes to things like this but its making me feel like one. Thanks to all who help. BTW Im running windows XP if that helps or matters
     
  2. Maks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #2
    If you install NitoTV (it *should* be on the Launcher after flashing), this will enable the support for the USB port. I can't recall, but I believe a reboot if required after the Nito install to activate the USB. After that, when you go to add a source for music/video in XBMC, you'll see whatever drive you have plugged into the port.
     
  3. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #3
    It is not there. Am I to guess by your quotes around should that this is a common problem.

    What is my next step to get Nitotv on there.
     
  4. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #4
    Update!! I did some research and discovered I have to ssh into my apple tv to get nitotv on there Im using winscp because I am very weak at the command line. I have put it in every folder and it still doesnt show up I have put the zip file and the extracted folders as well. Ughh there has to be something I'm not getting
     
  5. Maks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #5
    You don't need to put it in every folder. You can either scp the extracted folder over, or unzip the archive on the ATV. You have to SSH into the ATV, if you are using a command line ssh it is "ssh -l frontrow@AppleTV.local" The password will be "frontrow"

    After that you have to issue two commands:
    chmod 755 installme
    sudo ./installme

    When you do the second command it'll ask for a password, it is again "frontrow"
     
  6. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #6
    I used winscp to put the extracted folders- two of them _macosx and the other called nitotv. I than opened up putty since it is command line. i logged in but the first line that is there is -bash-2.05b$ to which I put ssh -l frontrow@AppleTV.local it did not ask for a password it said
    [-1246AaCfghkNnqsTtVvXxY] [-b bind_address] [-c cipher_spec]
    [-D port] [-e escape_char] [-F configfile] [-i identity_file]
    [-L port:host:hostport] [-l login_name] [-m mac_spec] [-o option]
    [-p port] [-R port:host:hostport] [user@]hostname [command]



    so now I am even more confused. Is there a way to install it without using the command line by using winscp. If not what am i doing wrong in putty. Thanks to all who are helping.
     
  7. Maks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #7
    If you are logged into the ATV you just need to run the last two commands I posted. The ssh is just to log into ATV remotely. You can't do it via winscp as scp is just a file transfer protocol, you cannot execute the install script. You were halfway there, once you putty into it, just run the last 2 commands I posted and you're fine. Assuming you are changed into the NitoTV folder.
     
  8. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #8

    How I change to the Nitotv folder I have it at
    /mnt/Scratch/Users/frontrow
     
  9. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #9
    When I do what you said I get this message

    dyld: Symbol not found: __ZTIN3KJS11InterpreterE
    Referenced from: /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/JavaScriptGlue.framework/Versions/A/JavaScriptGlue
    Expected in: /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaScriptCore.framework/Versions/A/JavaScriptCore

    ./installme: line 12: 379 Trace/BPT trap installer -pkg nitoTV.pkg -target /
    Restarting Finder...
     
  10. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #10
    Another update. I guess I had the wrong nitotv I got the nitotv take three got it installed but its still not finding my drive is there something i need to do on the nitotv menu
     
  11. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #11
    Another update. I found a guide that said I need go to NitoTV -> Settings -> Install Software -> Smart Installer i did that and rebooted still not showing drive. Im giving up for the day. Its happy hour. Anyone got any suggestions. Thank you for all the help so far i appreciate it alot
     
  12. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #12
    If you're using the latest ATVUSB-Creator it should have installed a new menu item called SoftwareMenu. In SoftwareMenu there's an installer for NitoTV. Install NitoTV and once it's installed then run Nito's SmartInstaller. No commandline doing it this way...
     
  13. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #13
    I thought I had the latest version but either way I got NitoTV up and running and ran smart installer. But its still not recognizing my drive
     
  14. Maks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #14
    Hmm...odd. What are you using to try to access the USB drive? Do the lights on the USB drive indicate that it has been recognized?
     
  15. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #15
    I have tried boxee and xbmc yes the lights works. It was attached to one of my computers. Its formatted in ntfs
     
  16. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #16
    You're apparently NOT using the "latest" ATVUSB-Creator (i.e. V3.x) because the "software menu" was removed some time ago. Only Launcher is supported now which means only XBMC and Boxee, nothing else what-so-ever and the last time I checked, the 3.x versions of ATV are only supported by the Windows version of the ATV-Creator as the maker of it no longer supports the Mac at all, from what I can see. I guess if you want all that extra stuff and Couch Surfer, etc. without having to muck about with SSH you have to buy the commercial patch stick since I see no support in the latest 3.x version of Launcher and ATVUSB-Creator. Most of that junk just made my ATV unstable anyway (Couch Surfer crashed CONSTANTLY and has not been updated in YEARS, at least for any free edition) and things like Nito are more or less useless unless you are using an external drive since it seems to have no function at all for SMB stuff, etc. The current Boxee Beta cannot even FIND my network stuff (worked great in the alpha versions) so it's only useful for Internet stuff at the moment here.
     
  17. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #17
    I am in fact using the latest version. I just checked my downloads and its ver. 3.0. I only patched it for the usb support which even though I finally got nitotv installed my usb external drive is still not being recognized
     
  18. mcdermd macrumors regular

    mcdermd

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #18
    There is your problem. I think you need to add NTFS support to the AppleTV. Have you tried a FAT formatted USB stick with movie or music files on it? If that works, you need NTFS support added. Is NitoTV able to add this with all of it's other options?
     
  19. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #19
    I couldn't find any way to make apple TV recognize a ntfs drive so I formatted in fat32. And everything shows up fine. Thanks again to everyone who helped me.
     
  20. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #20
    Hmmm, interesting post....so I must be smoking something pretty good since I just patched a friends ATV this weekend with the Mac version of ATVUSB-Creator 1.0b13, which includes support for ATV 3.+ AND includes an updated SoftwareMenu. Worked great for me. Or maybe you're smoking something???

    And as far as NitoTV, it's very, very useful if you want to enable the USB port, turn on AFP/NFS/SMB networking, install Turbo's kextloader, Perian and etc. And since you know everything, you probably know some of these require an original 1.0 Recovery dmg right? But like I said, you probably knew that already and of course you probably tried it with Boxee..:rolleyes:
     
  21. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #21
    Only thing you might run into is if you put files on there larger than 4gb, which fat32 can't handle. Just an FYI...
     
  22. Elvisdavidson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #22
    Thanks man I appreciate the info. I will keep that in mind.
     
  23. mcdermd macrumors regular

    mcdermd

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #23
    Or you can just roll it yourself by hand and not have nito cluttering up the menus. But you probably already knew that already, didn't you?
     
  24. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #24
    Yup, done that many a time. Of course, with Nito it's a one click effort and you can always rm the frappliance after you're done with it. But if you get off on commandline (and love the dreaded 1069 if you missed something) power to you and go for it. But of course you knew all that... ;)
     
  25. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #25
    Or maybe that beta came out after I downloaded the Windows V3.0 version as I did download the latest Mac version before I downloaded the Windows version and it had no mention on it about ATV 3.x support in it at the time ( I just downloaded the latest beta and it does mention it now). In fact, there is no simple way to tell which version of ATVUSB-Creator you have installed once you throw away the install folder (no 'about' or version information in the application) so I cannot say for sure which version I last installed, but it was after the Windows 3.0 support came out.

    Furthermore, the Windows version has no option to install the Software Menu, etc. as I mentioned (none that I saw anyway). Beyond that, the version I had installed on my AppleTV removed the Software Menu (it didn't ask whether I wanted it to) long before I updated it to 3.x. Now whether that was a glitch of the update or not, I cannot say. It simply disappeared after a Launcher update one day. Installed applications like Couch Surfer remained, but disappeared after I updated to 3.x.

    Perian, SMB, etc. have nothing to do with running NitoTV. SMB support comes with XBMC and Boxee (and probably Nito too). Perian was a software menu install option and didn't require NitoTV (which I tried and saw zero value to and removed again). I can't say about the USB port since I have no current use for it (I stream all my movies around the house to multiple ATV units from a single 1.5TB server so there's no need for an external drive).

    Only you seem to claim to know "everything". Most of these hacks have little to no documentation. You may have lots of time to read about recovery DMGs and the like on Boxee forums or whatever, but I have better things to do with my time than follow developer boards for beta software. But since you're an expert, maybe you can explain why the Alpha versions of Boxee worked great here, but the beta version cannot find any media in my SMB libraries. They all list as "connected OK" or something to that effect, but no songs, movies or pictures ever show up in Boxee and like I said, Boxee Beta deleted all my old settings somehow and despite setting things up the same way and it finding the SMB directories OK, it cannot find any media to add. XBMC (by comparison) has always an still retains the same settings I set on it over a year ago and that information has survived through every single ATV and Launcher update done during that time.
     

Share This Page