i think i'm screwed...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by cusco, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. cusco macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #1
    like many 3Gs owners, accidently went on itune and it updated to 3.1.2. now it shows:

    Version: 3.1.2
    Carrier: Carrier 5.0
    Modem Firmware: 05.11.07

    before when i was on 3.0, i JB and unlocked, but since i did it in windows, it didn't work out for me and i couldn't revert back. so one of my friend used his apple and fix it. but when i got it back today, my Tmo sim still didn't work. apparently, it got updated to 3.1.

    the good thing is that Cydia shows: 3.1 ECID SHSH on file; whereas before when i was on 3.0, it wasn't hashed.

    so.. guess i'm screwed now and have to wait till Dev team come up with an unlock that would work for the 3.1 eh?

    sigh.. what a day~
     
  2. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #2
    Yes, sadly you are. You can downgrade to 3.1 or whatnot but it won't matter because your baseband was updated when you installed 3.1.2. So your going to have to wait until 1) DevTeam unlocks 3.1.2/3.1 or 2) Someone makes a baseband downgrader.
     
  3. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #3
    let me get this straight, you accidentally upgraded to 3.1.2?

    by that you mean you accidentally plugged you phone in, saw the dialog notifying you of the upgrade, hit install, waited for the firmware to download and then install?
     
  4. inf macrumors 6502

    inf

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
  5. åidån Guest

    Joined:
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    No, that was the friend.
     
  6. cusco thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #6
    thanks guys.. now i guess i have a itouch :(

    i hope the dev team will come up with something soon. i can't blame my friend, as he was just trying to help out.

    one of the thing i was thinking was, like most phones you can get an unlock code after 3 months of service.

    but with apple, it seems the more you update with itune, the more they try to screw you over and keep you from JB and unlock.

    afterall, the phone has already been purchased and if endusers wants it unlocked to use on other network, they should be able to do so, right? afterall, it's our phone and we already paid for it 100% outright. but by they locking us down, it's that violating something here? like shouldn't they give us the unlock code so we can use with other networks as we like, since after all... we already paid full price for it?
     
  7. NSK123 macrumors regular

    NSK123

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #7
    Don't expect anything soon. It has already been months and we haven't heard a peep about a decent unlock. If you're done with your contract and it's fully paid then you should be able to have your phone unlocked by the carrier it's locked to.. If not then you gotta wait.

    Live and learn.. Next time don't give your phone to a retard who doesn't know what he's doing with your expensive phone.

    You could also just sell it and buy a new carrier unlocked phone.
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    Some friend ! Like he would of ever touched my phone to begin with !
     
  9. jbplaya macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
  10. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #10
    Nope. No unlock codes for iPhones.

    Good luck. You don't know what you've got til it's gone.
     
  11. elpmas macrumors 68000

    elpmas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Where the fresh snow don't go.
    #11
    :(
    that sucks, i say...ebay it and buy another one haha. :D
     
  12. macjunk(ie) macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #12
    full price ? are u not on a contract?
     

Share This Page