I think it's stupid (yes another 2GB vs 4GB)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by vistokid, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. vistokid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #1
    I think it's stupid that the brick and mortar Apple stores only carry 4GB MBA if you upgrade every available option. What about those of us who just want extra ram? We have to wait a week to get it from China.

    Anyways I think it' stupid and wanted to vent.
     
  2. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #2
    My store would sell me a base + 4gb ram 13" for $1399.
     
  3. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
    RAM upgrades are available in all 4 configurations. It's only the 1.6GHz and 2.13GHz processors that are limited to the larger storage configurations.
     
  4. vistokid thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #4
    So they had them in stock?

    I thought Apple stores only carried the 4 base models + 2 maxed out versions?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Not all Apple Stores even carry BTOs. This is similar to 15" MBP's hi res screen thing. Some stores only had i7 with hi res antiglare display because they wanted people to pay more.

    We don't even have Apple Stores in here so be lucky that you have option for something. My only option is to buy it from the online store and wait for a week or two.
     
  6. OSMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #6
    Agreed, not only that but some Apple Store employees think it can later be upgraded to 4GB in store. I imagine more that a few people will be very disappointed when they return for an upgrade in a couple months :)

    Also the staff confusion over if a given store has the maxed version in stock is strange.
     
  7. vistokid thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #7
    Sorry I mean I'm chapped that B&M stores only carry the 4 base models + 2 maxed out editions. I just want a 4GB upgrade and that means I have to order online or pay an extra $500 in store but get double storage (not needed) and a fast processor (also not needed).
     
  8. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #8
    Yes, they had them in stock
     
  9. vistokid thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #9
    Maybe there is some hope afterall, I'll call them today! Thanks!
     
  10. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #10
    Perhaps you should have done that before starting this thread. :rolleyes:
     
  11. Westyfield2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Bath, UK.
    #11
    Whilst I can see it's annoying (though just order online! :p) what annoys me more is that you can't have the CPU upgrade unless you get the largest HDD. :rolleyes: @ :apple:.
     
  12. Xil3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Must be a US thing... I was at the biggest Apple store in Europe (Oxford Circus store in London), and they told me to go order it online, because they weren't going to get them in.

    But maybe the store reps are just morons... who knows.
     
  13. vistokid thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #13
    I've called them everyday for a week asking and have been told they are not going to be carrying base models with 4GB of ram only. No need to roll your eyes.

    In fact, based on what others are saying (and my analysis) I still don't believe you can get a 13", 128 GB, 1.83, with 4 GB of ram in store.
     
  14. vistokid thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #14
    Yep, that's exactly what they're saying to me. Order online. They won't carry just a 4GB upgrade. Has to be maxed out.
     
  15. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #15
    You would have already received it had you ordered it online. :rolleyes:

    I like rolling my eyes.
     
  16. vistokid thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #16

    Haha... true I would have.

    My problem is I got the 13" base already (unopened) from my brother (from the US, I'm in Canada) and I was hoping to swap it out for a 4GB.

    They said I can swap it for the elite version (2.16, 4GB, 256), but that's $500 more. And all I really want is the ram.
     
  17. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #17
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    My local Apple store told me I needed to order online when I asked for a 4gb 11.6 model. They even offered the use of the MBA to place the order.
     
  18. vistokid thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #18

    hahaha!!! Now that's irony!
     
  19. gwsat macrumors 68000

    gwsat

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #19
    I was finally able to buy a 13 inch 2.13Ghz 4MB MBA at the OKC Apple Store this morning but it wasn't easy. I called them on Monday or Tuesday and was told that they would not be stocking any of the 4GB models. I called again yesterday and was told they had the 13 inch 2.13Ghz 4GB in stock. When I got to the store, though, after waiting about 20 minutes to be helped, the kid who went to get it came back shortly and said they didn't have it in stock after all. Woops!

    I called the Apple Store again today because I had not got the same answer in 2 tries so maybe there was something new. This time I talked to the guy who is the store's products manager, who as it happens has sold me my iPad. He went and got what I wanted and put my name on the box. When I showed up about 15 minutes later, he met me at the Genius Bar with my MBA in hand.

    There was really no decision for me to make between a 2GB and 4GB model because I plan to run Windows 7 under VMware Fusion in Unity mode so that I can multitask running both Windows apps and OS X apps. I just hope that 4GB will be enough, although with the speed of the MBA's flash storage, I am confident that I will be just fine. Will report on that later.
     
  20. vistokid thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #20

    Congrats! I opened up my base 13" yesterday and it's really fast. Much faster than my 2009 MBP with 4GB. I'm super impressed thus far.
     

Share This Page