I thought this was not possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MaxRota, Jun 10, 2018.

  1. MaxRota macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    #1
    Put a installed HD "High Sierra" in the mac pro 4,1 and it works fine!!

    Why the fuss on updating the firmware!!!??? Schermafbeelding 2018-06-10 om 22.11.49.png
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    What ever gave you the impression it wouldn’t work? You could have installed it natively on that system w/o all the hassle.
     
  3. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #3
    Well the 4,1 isn't on the list of supported Macs for HS (or Sierra). My understanding was that 4,1 owners needed to do the 5,1 firmware flash in order for the install to succeed. I don't know that for sure though since I had done the 5,1 update a long time ago when I upgraded my CPU.
     
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    I get it, OP wasn’t referring to the firmware included in the OS installer, but rather the flash from 4.1 to 5.1.
    That thought escaped me with so many people here running Has on 4.1/5.1
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    In my case, for better CPU
    17F77.png
     
  6. MaxRota thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    #6
    My understanding was that 4,1 owners needed to do the 5,1 firmware flash in order to run “High Siera” on a Mac Pro 4,1...!???
    Apparently not!!?
     
  7. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    It would be interesting to try, but I suspect you are correct. However I also suspect there is a file you can edit in the installer that would unblock that model and allow normal install. Might be fun to give it a go, but why wouldn’t you want to upgrade to 5,1 firmware anyway?

    Just curious.. What are the cons?
     
  8. MaxRota thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    #8
    Sorry but for the lame person who wants to update his mac pro 2009 in the usual way, it is a no go.. buy a new machine is the apparent solution!?
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    That's my understanding as well. Even the OS is installed from another supported Mac. What I heard is it won't boot on unsupported Mac (e.g. on 3,1) without patching.

    And since we know 4,1 can be flashed to 5,1 with virtually no disadvantage. So, all people I know who running 10.12 or 10.13 on 2009 cMP flashed their 4,1 to 5,1.
     

Share This Page