I thought tvOS 12 bricked my Apple TV 4K...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by TrenttonY, Sep 25, 2018.

  1. TrenttonY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    #1
    No one make the same mistake and use the option "reset and update" in the system preference. I did this now I can't log in to my WiFi or my iPhones Hotspot, to even get this thing booted back up.

    All I get is error 1004 when I try to join my network.

    What am I suppose to do, as the stupid 4K version doesn't have a connector to plug into iTunes...
     
  2. Lumpy05 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    #2
    You can try holding down remote Menu & Home Screen buttons at the same time for about 5 or 6 seconds. This should force a soft reset/restart. If that does not work then you will need to contact Apple Support.
     
  3. TrenttonY thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    #3
    I just got off the phone will support. So for future reference to anyone.

    The Apple TV's network was all messed up, so all you have to do is unplug your modem (wait 1 min) then your router (wait 1 min) then plus each one by themselves and wait, then hold both button on the Apple TV remote. This 3 step process resyncs all the network mumbo jumbo together so your network can finally talk to your Apple TV.

    Thanks Apple Support lady!
     
  4. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #4
    I chose the update option and my 4k updated without any problems.

    I actually prefer the previous OS GUI.

    Which buttons did you hold down?
     
  5. bbednarz macrumors 6502a

    bbednarz

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    So basically you just needed to restart your modem/router. Should change the thread title at this point.
     
  6. TrenttonY thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    #6
    Menu button and home button, until your Apple TV start flashing.
    I forgot to change it once my problem was solved. Fixed now
     
  7. winstars macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    #7


    Very, very good information to know.
    Thanks!!!
     
  8. TrenttonY thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    #8
    What GUI changes are there? tvOS 11 and tvOS 12 look identical.
     
  9. tromboneaholic Suspended

    tromboneaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #9
    I was wondering the same thing.
     

Share This Page

8 September 25, 2018