I Truely Think This Is a Software Issue

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by myfoneisdank, Jun 25, 2010.

1. myfoneisdank macrumors regular

To get it out of the way to avoid stupid posts, I am not an expert or claim to know anything significant about hardware or technology.

I like many others CAN replicate this antenna issue. I also can attest to the fact that when the bars drop to 1 or none, the signal is completely lost.

But, after doing extensive testing on the issue I really think in my heart of hearts that this is a software issue and can be fixed without a full recall and here's why:

I have a full five bars in my house. When laying flat on a table, my speed tests are an average of 2800 kpbs down, 1400 up. I have done this a multitude of times throughout the day and am consistently getting these numbers. When I take it in my left hand, palm pressing into the bottom left antenna sensor, the bars usually go down to 2, sometimes just three and I clearly have a good 3g signal where I am located. Doing many speed tests from this position, I am getting a consistent 2500-2800 kpbs down, 1200-1500 up. This is all with 2-3 bars.

Outside of my house (in a CVS store where there is less reception) I have conducted the same tests. The numbers were lower obviously, but consistent when cycling between 2-4 bars.

Like I said, I can attest to the fact that when the bars go down to 1 or none, there is NO service and data is completely cut off. Again I am no expert but I believe a software fix would alleviate the problem due to the fact that currently the phone isn't connecting to the different bands of network fast enough which is causing this problem.

Let me know what you all think.

2. chrisk1250 macrumors member

But doesn't the fact that using a Bumper alleviates the problem indicate that the problem is hardware-related?

3. shanew21 macrumors regular