I-tunes doesn't see my I-touch

Discussion in 'macOS' started by VillageIdiot, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. VillageIdiot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    #1
    Hi, I wonder if someone could help me here. I installed Leopard the other night and everything seemed to be fine.

    However, I noticed today, that when I plugged in my Itouch to upload some pictures on it, my computer doesn't see it. Strange thing is, the Itouch knows its been plugged into something and switches to the green battery screen.

    How do I get these 2 talking again?

    Oh, also, one more thing. On the dock, it used to have a small arrow under the programs that were running. Since updating, the little arrows have disappeared. I kinda miss those things.

    Thanks
     
  2. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #2
    Make sure you have all the current System Updates. The iPod Touch should by default launch iTunes (though that can be disabled). Do yo have iTunes launched first, or do you let the iPod trigger it?

    The Leopard Dock now displays little blue-white "lights" under the active apps. Takes some getting used to. Prettier than the triangles, but hard to see, to be sure.
     
  3. VillageIdiot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    #3
    Ah!!! I see the light!!! :p

    But, when I close i-tunes, and then plug in my i-touch... nothing. No launch. Also, if I look at my macintosh HD, the i-touch isn't listed as a device.
     
  4. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    First of all, it is iTunes and iTouch. There has never been a dash. Ever.

    Secondly, you need to open iTunes, click on the iTouch icon on the side and check the box that says "Launch iTunes when you connect this device".
     
  5. VillageIdiot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    #5
    Wow, that was slightly less than helpful... but I feel quite corrected.

    But, the problem isn't so much my spelling of iTouch (don't need to put the ™, ® or © after it too do I?), but the fact the computer won't recognize that a device was even plugged into it. Therefore there is no "iTouch icon" anywhere.
     
  6. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #6
    You said that you see it when you launch iTunes... it is below the iTunes Store.
     
  7. VillageIdiot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    #7
    Nope... Library, Store, Playlist. No iTouch

    It used to be there, until I installed Leopard. Now, nowhere on the whole computer does it see the iTouch
     
  8. bwawn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    #8
    This is likely your fix:

    Go to /Library/Receipts. Remove AppleMobileDeviceSupport.pkg.
    Go to /System/Library/Extensions. Remove AppleMobileDevice.kext.
    Download the latest full iTunes from http://www.apple.com/itunes
    When going through the install process, choose a "Custom" install and install only the Mobile Device Support package.

    That should do the trick. I'm not sure if I left any steps out. If it doesn't work, you may want to do the first two steps -- removing the two files -- and then rebooting, and then doing the rest (reinstalling iTunes mobile device support).
     
  9. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #9
    Both of you,
    It's iPod Touch. :p


    Have you tried seeing if it's visible to disk utility?
     
  10. mrchip007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #10
    Leopard iPod fix

    All you have to do is download the latest version of iTunes and go through the install - it will retain your library and recognize the ipod touch and everything will be fine
     
  11. john Simons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #11
    itouch not seen

    Village Idiot did you get sorted am having the same problem?
     
  12. john Simons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #12
    itouch

    not seeing my itouch in itunes or on desktop
     

Share This Page