I updated my mac computer now keeps Restarting

Discussion in 'iMac' started by blasena, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. blasena macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #1
    I downloaded updates on my apple imac computer, now it keeps restarting. The computer will start, then the apple icon appears, then the wheel spins for about 3 min, then computer restarts. Please can anyone email me suggestions or ways I can fix this. Adjmobile@yahoo.com. thanks aaron
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Did you download them manually from Apple's site or used Software Update?
    Even if you downloaded them manually and it's the wrong one it should give a warning that it's not for your Mac and normally the Installer won't allow it to be installed.

    There's plenty you can do before thinking about reinstalling.

    Start Up in Verbose mode by holding Command-V at startup, then look where it hangs, write it down and report here.

    Start Up in Safe Mode by holding Shift at startup,does this work, if so go on to do the next.
    Repair Permissions in Disk Utility and check the disk for Errors also in Disk Utility.
    It won't let you repair the disk because the disk is the startup disk, if all is green it is OK, if not you have to restart, Hold Command-S and it will start up in Single User Mode.
    You'll see a bit of text on the display, it should automatically repair the disk.
    (Read more about this here.)

    Type "reboot" or to reboot or mac-boot to start up the System.

    Is it solved now?

    Oh, and btw, nobody is going to email, just check here.
     
  3. chrishe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    london
    #3
    noise from fan maybe

    received my new iMac 27 just before xmas with fusion.i can hear the fan running and when i am all alone and its quite at night it seems very load.is this normal to be able to hear the fan or is it just me and the casing is thinner than before
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    Off Topic!!!

    But I will help, why you have it on at night, you should put it to sleep, no need to have it running.
     
  5. Dlfredjr86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    #5
    Hey. So I am having the same problem. Have a late 2012 MacBook Pro. When I start up the computer it will shut down before it can log on. I have tried safe mode. The only way I can get it to stay on is if I continually hold down shift. When looking in verbose mode the last thing I see is BootCacheControl: Unable to open /var/db/BootCaches/PreheatedUser/merged.playlist:2 nosuchfileordirectory Any ideas? I've talked to support and they told em to take it to a Apple Store but there isn't one close and my nearest authorized dealer is 30-45 min away. Plus I'm trying not to spend a ton of money.
     
  6. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
    The bolded part is normal, it hangs on something different which it does not display.

    Download OS X and then install will most likely solve your problem.
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    Dlfredjr. wrote:
    "I have tried safe mode. The only way I can get it to stay on is if I continually hold down shift."

    Sounds like -something- in your "regular" account is interfering with startup.

    A suggestion to try:
    1. Boot in safe mode
    2. When you get to the finder, open the "Users & Groups" preference pane
    3. Try to create a NEW user.
    4. Give it administrative privileges and a simple name/password, like "temp".
    5. Now reboot, and try to log into the "temp" account.

    Do you get "a good boot" and a "good login"?

    If this goes well, I'd say it definitely points to something in your regular account that is preventing a normal boot.

    All of the above is done for diagnostic purposes.
    When you get your regular account sorted out, you can just delete the "temp" account.
     

Share This Page