I upgraded to 4.0.1! Shouldn't have!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by APPLEFAN8, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. APPLEFAN8 macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NJ/GA/FL
    #1
    Now I have 2 or 3 bars everywhere and I have 5 bars with 4.0! Anyway I can downgrade?
     
  2. ste1164 macrumors 6502a

    ste1164

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #2
    Unless you saved you SHSH with saurik by using firmware umbrella or cydia. You can't downgrade.
     
  3. APPLEFAN8 thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NJ/GA/FL
    #3
    I'm screwed then! What is SHSH again?
     
  4. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #4
    That's the POINT of 4.0.1

    It's what it's supposed to do. It's why you upgraded.

    Click the chart to see it larger:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. sn1pes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #5
    You do know that 4.0.1 includes the new algorithm to (correctly) display the right number of bars for signal strength. Apple admitted that all previous versions had an incorrect algorithm.

    Your signal hasn't changed, just how it is represented in bars.
     
  6. Ferris23 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #6
    Dude the bars didn't mean squat. Your signal hasn't changed a bit, just the way your phone shows the signal is now far more accurate. You were seeing incorrect information with the bars on 4.0
     
  7. jacollins macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #7
    Do you understand why the change was made in 4.0.1?
     
  8. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #8
    Do you realize what 4.0.1 does? It doesn't magically degrade your signal, it simply displays it correctly. Your signal is exactly the same as it was before. Let's say you were getting roughly -100 dBs, before that would be displayed as 4 bars while now it's more like 2, which is correct. The bars on your display in no way affect your ability to make or quality of calls, it's simply a way of communicating the raw signal strength.
     
  9. Fernandez21 macrumors 601

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #10
    Yup you did. Now this also begs the question on how many people upgrading from a 3G or 3GS with 4.0 will see he bars on a new iPhone 4 and think it gets worse reception than their current phone? And after all the antena talk too.
     
  10. itsmemuffins macrumors 68030

    itsmemuffins

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #11
    You do know that your 5 bars everywhere before and your 2.-3 bars everywhere now is the same signal quality?

    All Apple did was change the way they displayed the calculated signal strength.;)
     
  11. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    The upgrade did nothing to your signal, only how it was displayed. Your phone works exactly the same as when it was on 4.0.
     
  12. 8CoreWhore macrumors 68020

    8CoreWhore

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Big D
    #13
    Stop staring at bars and start enjoying your iPhone. :cool:
     
  13. big0mar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
  14. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #15
    Pre 4.0.1, your signal bar has been LYING to you due to wrong algorithm. The 4.0.1 is displaying your signal accurately.

    All it does is to make you see the reality that you are not getting 5 bars everywhere because the real signal strength is actually less than that
     
  15. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #16
    Jailbreak and find some app that gives you faux bars.
     
  16. wirelessmacuser macrumors 68000

    wirelessmacuser

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    Planet.Earth
    #17
    I was happy to see that my newest iP4 came with 4.0.1
     
  17. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #18
    I personally liked the look of the older bars, the new ones are not as stream lined, I wish we had a choice, I would go back to the look of the older bars.
     
  18. F123D macrumors 68040

    F123D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Del Mar, CA
    #19
    4.01 seemed like a cosmetic upgrade. Didn't help solve any issues, which is why I didn't upgrade. Happy with my fake 5 bars. :D
     
  19. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #20
    I was happy too until I couldn't make a call with 3 bars... Then I figured I'm sick of being lied to :p
     
  20. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #21
    Having better information is not cosmetic.

    If your car's speedometer was suddenly off by 20% you would not call that a cosmetic problem.
     
  21. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #22
    +1 but then I did upgrade now I hate the look of the new bars, but there is no way to go back and I am not going to JB.
     
  22. orange42 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #23
    I'm still not buying the whole "the bars were incorrect" bs Apple is claiming. That was just their attempt at calming the antenna issue. I haven't updated mine.
     
  23. F123D macrumors 68040

    F123D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Del Mar, CA
    #24
    No, that's a life threatening problem, but I see your point. This update made no improvements and changes nothing in regards to how your phone functions and how you make phone calls. A speedometer however, would change the way you drive.
     
  24. Stay Tuned macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #25
    4.0 had bad signal reception issues. All 4.0.1 did was to show you the actual poor reception of the phone.
     

Share This Page