I used an iPhone to replace my Note PRO 12.2, what next?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by hajime, Jan 20, 2016.

  1. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #1
    Hello, I have been using an iPhone 6s+ to replace my Note PRO 12.2 for the past three weeks. The camera quality of the iPhone is better. The only problem is the the screen of the iPhone is too small for me. I also tried a Jot Touch and other Jot styluses on my iPhone. I can see offset. The S-pen and the Apple Pencil are much better. Has any of you used the iPhone 6s+ to provide internet access for the Note PRO 12.2, Surface PRO 4, Surface Book or iPad PRO? Is the connection on non-Apple device easy to set up and stable?

    I need to buy a new computer but Apple has not announced this year's model yet. Also, Apple probably will not release a new laptop that accepts stylus input. As I use engineering applications and write programs, iPad PRO is probably a poor choice. Any suggestion?
     
  2. dark_knight177 macrumors regular

    dark_knight177

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #2
    If you are really serious about engineering applications then you need a Microsoft Surface Pro 4.
    iPhone is fine as a smartphone, just don't expect more.
     
  3. Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
  4. hajime thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #4
    On the net, some users mentioned that they are able to run Matlab, SolidWorks, Inventor fine. However, from this video, it seems that it is awful as there are lags and the fan's noise is loud. Is this normal or just the machine the guy used?

     
  5. msavic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #5
    I run matlab on my Surface Pro 3 i3 and it works perfectly fine, compilation times take longer but that's to be expected.

    Regarding tethering, it is quite easy to setup and every device will work essentially the same with the Surface line of devices. I use my S6 and my Pro 3 connects automatically upon turning on the hot spot on the S6.
     
  6. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #6
    The fan on my sp4 (i5)isn't even noticeable. If I wanted to run engineering applications I would have opted for the i7 not i5.
     

Share This Page