I used iToner, what will happen if I update?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dfnj123, Sep 27, 2007.

  1. dfnj123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #1
    has anyone updated who used iToner without restoring? I deleted all the ringtones from it a few weeks ago but I never restored it.
     
  2. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #2
    You will loose all your ringtones from your iPhone once you update.
     
  3. dfnj123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #3
    ... no bricking though... right?
     
  4. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #4
    Skim through this thread. People have shared their experience that itoner does not brick the phone it just deletes the ringtones.
     
  5. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
  6. dfnj123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #6
    OHHH NOOESS... lol
     
  7. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #7
    Or turn into a Zune...
     
  8. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #8
    Thats worst :D

     
  9. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #9
    Lol thats even worse :D
     
  10. PupnTaco macrumors regular

    PupnTaco

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #10
    Lost a custom ringtone synched via iToner here... and trying to restore via iToner 1.0.2 didn't work.

    C'mon, Ambrosia!
     
  11. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    Unlike last update, I am going to wait a few days before I attempt it. I am very nervous about this update.
     
  12. fj2007cruiser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    #12
    I just added new ringtones last night and then updated afterwards and nothing was lost.
    V1.02 iToner
     
  13. flanetpa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #13
    Itoner

    You must have the immaculate Iphone. IToner 1.02 no longer works and your ringtones will not be listed on the iphone.


     
  14. Daremo macrumors 68000

    Daremo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #14
    He's not the only one reporting this. A few others have said their iToner ringtones survived the update, but if you try to sync them again, they are lost.
     
  15. pacohaas macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #15
    Would it be easier to simply replace the soundfiles on a few of apple's built-in ringtones with our own? So that when you choose the "Duck" ringtone, it really plays your custom sound that is named Duck.m4r?
     
  16. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #16
    It appears that the 1.1.1 update either deletes the "main ringtone" (the one that plays when you get an incoming call) or will delete it when you go to look at it in Settings.

    However, it appears that ringtones assigned to contacts remain intact, at least until you edit them.

    A forum member running iTunes 7.4.0 may have found a workaround. It involves first sending ringtones with a .m4r file extension to your iPhone via iTunes, though they will not play. You then upload the ringtones a second time, now with a .m4a file extension, using a program like iToner (they used MakeiPhoneRingtones). Apparently, having both file extensions on the iPhone and the Mac seems to make it work.

    Mind you, I have not tried it myself (though I am considering it) so no guarantees. :)
     
  17. docal97 macrumors 6502a

    docal97

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    Southampton
  18. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #18
    Just an FYI that with a non-modified/hacked iPhone, when I went to 1.1.1. under iTunes 7.4.1. all my custom, non-iTunes ringtones survived the update and subsequent syncs. I started a new thread with more specifics.
     

Share This Page