I wanna see how much the iPhone can take

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by EducationApp, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. EducationApp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #1
    What do you think I should implement to see how hot I can get an iPhone to go. Just for fun, I want to see how well the different IOS devices can take the same load. What do you think I should try to essentially overload the processor?
     
  2. jnoxx macrumors 65816

    jnoxx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
    #2
    Errr, unless it's jailbroken you can't really do that since it's all protected for experiments like that.
     
  3. EducationApp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #3
    So even if I throw a loop with some GPS coordinates that it has to find on a map and set directions and have some animations all going on at the same time, it won't overload it?
     
  4. jnoxx macrumors 65816

    jnoxx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
    #4
    Thing is, if you force too much memory, iOS will take over, and just kill your app.. it's to protect the customer ofcourse, this is not android ;)
     
  5. zedzeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    #5
    It would be quite easy to do. IOS shouldnt be able to stop it, just do a large loop in some fragment shader with plenty of memory operations. The device will get hot & as a certain temperature is reached I assume will just cut out. Dont blame me if you screw your device though. I doubt very much apple will let you publish such an app on their site though :D
     
  6. 1458279 Suspended

    1458279

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I'm no expert, but don't we already have heavy graphics games that do just that? and the device doesn't shut down or overheat.

    Given the problems of the past with notebooks catching fire, I think they've got these kinda problems worked out. Example, the storage is no longer an actual hard disk, it's now a 'ram disk' no moving parts.

    I just don't see how you could do this.
     
  7. zedzeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    #7

Share This Page