Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

oxband

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 10, 2009
So, I'm a graduate student who has been doing film-making for about half a year, and in that time, I've decided I think I want to try and make a go at film-making for a career. I've saved up some money and I want to create a good set up for FCP.

As for a computer, I'm thinking of springing for http://store.apple.com/us/product/G0GW7LL/A?mco=Nzk2MTU0Mw
I want to be able to edit on the road so I want a MBP. I'm wondering if this is a good choice or if it is worth paying more for the SSD. I'm planning on making this my computer for years, so I don't mind spending the extra money for the SSD, but only if it is worth it.

As for external hard drives, I own two Seagate external 1TB hard-drives that are 7200 RPM. I bought them about a year ago and they work fine. Should they suffice?

Lastly, I already have one 21" monitor that I connect to my current laptop. Are two monitors that much more convenient? Would it make sense to use the laptop I'll buy as the second monitor or would i want to spring for something larger.

Thanks!

oxband

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 10, 2009
Well, I kind of like the portability of the MBP, and from I've heard, there isn't anything performance-wise that I can't do on it. This will sound like a dumb question, but is the difference between the quad-core Mac Pro and the MBP going to be so great that I should reconsider that?

calderone

Cancelled
Aug 28, 2009
In your case, yes, the performance difference should make you reconsider. Everyone talks about portability, but very few people utilize it. I work in IT and in my office, very few people drag their laptop around. That isn't to say you won't. But really think about your habits and your needs.

techfreak85

macrumors 68040
Jan 13, 2008
Places
i would never dream of editing on a laptop. Get a mac pro.