I want linux,windows and leopard on my imac... How do I resize my partition?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by togermano, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. togermano macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #1
    I already made a windows partition via bootcamp... now how do I resize leopards partition so i can make a linux partition?
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Disk Utility if you're on Leopard, iPartition if not.
     
  3. togermano thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #3
    How? I opened disk utility but don't see how too
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    I have yet to hear a clear easy way to tri-boot a mac. My info might be outdated tho.

    Im sure its doable, but my impression is that its not easy.
     
  5. togermano thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #5
    Why wouldn't it be? Just hold down option key and it will let you pick the partition...
     
  6. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #6
    It's actually quite easy, at least with rEFIt. I used it to tri boot SuSE, XP, and Leopard without any issues.

    To the other question, Grab the corner of the partition, you should be able to drag it to whatever size you want.
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    lol, obviously my info was old, glad I got some update from u guys :)
     
  8. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #8
    Check out BootPicker (see my sig) - I have not got Linux set up yet, and dual boot for now, but BP is a very nice interface to start up with.
     
  9. togermano thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #9
    oooOOo I see it thanks!
     
  10. togermano thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
  11. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
  12. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #12
    Linux runs very well with VMware. Why not go that way and avoid having to re-boot? For that matter Windows runs well inside VMware except if you are running games
     

Share This Page