I want my permanent escape and brightness/volume buttons back!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macbook123, Nov 19, 2016.

  1. macbook123 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    #1
    Is there a way to get those buttons to permanently light up on the touchbar, be it at low brightness so as to not waste too much energy? I find it really annoying to have to press the < arrow thing to even see the volume and brightness up/down buttons, and also to not see the esc button permanently (i.e., having to tab the bar once to even see where it is, then press the esc button again. Being a developer, but also for stuff like watching videos online I use that button a lot! And I always like to fine tune my volume and brightness settings, but having to first expand the touch bar menu makes this very cumbersome.
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
  3. justywusty macrumors regular

    justywusty

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #3
    Yup. Under Keyboard preferences, you can make the system buttons always show.

    You can also program the Fn key to toggle the full system buttons instead of the F keys. That might be a good alternative since it won't require you to press the chevron to expand.

    BUT...did you also know that you don't have to press the volume or brightness buttons and then tap on the slider? You can just press and hold and slide—no need to remove your finger. One button.
     
  4. Garage Battle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #4
    i have this feeling that I could think about the touchbar, in regards to the volume/brightness annoyance, and come up with a gorgeous solution in 30 minutes.
     
  5. myscrnnm macrumors 65816

    myscrnnm

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    You know you don't have to use so many button presses right? If you just hold down the button for the respective control on the Touch Bar, you can slide it to adjust the brightness, volume, et cetera in one motion. Actually easier than it used to be.
     
  6. BluAffiliate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #6
    Go back to PC then.
     
  7. Cvx5832 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    #7
    Didn't know that. Thanks for the tip.
     
  8. Ries macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #8
    Could you link him to the 15" non touch bar?
     
  9. arbitrage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #9
    As mentioned above just hold and slide makes it as simple as the old method, actually I like this new method better.
     
  10. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
  11. macbook123, Nov 20, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2016

    macbook123 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    #11
    Thanks, I see those options now, but let me clarify: what do you mean by the 2nd option being "a good alternative since it won't require you to press the chevron to expand"? Sorry for being bad at autocorrecting -- still waking up :)
     
  12. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #12
    Where exactly did the OP say he was using a 15"?
     
  13. MrGuder macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    #13
    I saw a video where you can get the typical function keys back at any time by pressing the bottom left key, I thought that was a nice feature.

    I was kinda shocked when I saw in a video how you can customize the function keys by dragging and dropping what keys you use the most. Apple is slowly realizing that customizing is a good thing for the customer.
     
  14. happyslayer macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #14
  15. soulreaver99 macrumors 68020

    soulreaver99

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
    #15
    you can just drill some holes on the touchbar and glue the keys on off an old keyboard.
     
  16. TheBacklash macrumors 6502

    TheBacklash

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #16
    So with this:
    Although it may be time consuming.. couldn't you go through and turn on the default Fn keys for every app?
     
  17. justywusty macrumors regular

    justywusty

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #17
    I was thinking you didn't want to expand the full system bar first (which you do by tapping the < (chevron).
     
  18. therealseebs macrumors 65816

    therealseebs

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #18
    That just redirects to the new models now, so far as I can tell? I can't find a way to order the 2015 models. Some stores have them, although only without dGPU.

    EDIT: I was wrong, the other one is still there, lower on the page, once I navigate back to 15".
     
  19. Ataricade Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    #19
    I seem to have escape, volume and brightness always available on mine. I don't have to hit a arrow.

    Also in case you didn't know. You don't have to lift your finger once you hit the volume or brightness key just touch it and start sliding left or right.
     
  20. justywusty macrumors regular

    justywusty

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #20
    correct, but if the OP wants to use the discreet down/up buttons like how they existed pre-touch bar (instead of hitting the single volume/brightness buttons that are always there in compact mode), those can be accessed in expanded mode, or by tapping the compact mode button and then sliding or tapping the down/up buttons on either side of the sliders.
     
  21. Ataricade Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    #21

    I get that but there is zero reason to do that except make it take longer. Touch and start sliding.

    I removed them from the extended bar as well and replaced with the single key versions. Hoping they add a single keyboard light control in the future. Frees up spots for other things.
     
  22. justywusty macrumors regular

    justywusty

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #22
    yup...just presenting options.
     
  23. dugbug macrumors 65816

    dugbug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Florida
    #23
    The touch bar is very well done. They really executed this feature well
     
  24. Ataricade Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    #24
    I agree.
     
  25. fokmik macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #25
    This is macOS and not iOS ...the only one still not very customisable is the iOS. macOS and even the watchOS are very good at this
     

Share This Page