I want the red circle to quit the program, not just...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Statelymwhite, May 23, 2011.

1. Statelymwhite macrumors regular

... close the window.

I ended up with almost 1GB of Safari windows open because I thought clicking the red circle closed Safari. Apparently that just closes the window.

I'm an OS X noob, so be kind (haven't had a Mac since the kind Seinfeld had)... is there a way to kill the window AND quit the program with just one simple click (without going to the drop down menu?).

Thanks!

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Use Command-Q

Programs that use only one window quit
    Programs that can use multiple windows only close the window
    Generally speaking

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

That's not the way Mac OS X works. For multi-window apps, such as Safari, TextEdit, MS Word, etc., clicking the red button only closes the window. For single-window apps such as Photo Booth, clicking the red button closes the window and quits the app. To quit a multi-window app, use Command-Q or use the menu command.

Helpful Information for Any Mac User

4. Statelymwhite thread starter macrumors regular

5. JTToft macrumors 68040

What does "1GB of Safari windows" mean? And how did you end up with that if you closed the windows by clicking the red circle?

6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

I'm guessing the OP meant 1GB of RAM used by Safari, even though no windows remained open.

7. applemagic123 macrumors regular

applemagic123

Yes, this is a flaw in OSX that I don't like either. I wish it was like windows where closing a window would exit out of the app entirely. Just press command Q.

8. roadbloc macrumors G3

roadbloc

It isn't a flaw. It's the way OS X works and in my opinion, it makes full sense. If you like Windows, stick to Windows. Simple.

9. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110