I want to build a Core i7 hackintosh (help)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Action, Nov 25, 2009.

1. Action macrumors member

I've never built a hackintosh before. I was under the assumption that if you pick the right parts, OSX is as easy as if it were on mac. Please correct me if I'm wrong here.

Second, I need to know which parts I'm supposed to pick. Which motherboards work well for hackintoshes? Which video cards?

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks.

2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

3. freepeacesweet macrumors member

freepeacesweet

As already posted insanleymac for forums and osx86project for compatibility etc

4. Action thread starter macrumors member

I just checked out the insanelymac forums and wow, it looks like a complete pain in the ass to do this.

5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

Its more a way of life than a route to a Mac.;)

6. thermodynamic Suspended

thermodynamic

Yep!

Way as well chuck out the money and get a proper Mac.

A shame the 17" MBP costs as much as it does, but it's ultimately worth it.

7. Action thread starter macrumors member

I already have a 2 year old mbp that's fine as my workstation. I want to build a gaming pc, but I NEED OS X or no deal. I figured it was just a matter of picking out the same chipsets and such and it would be no different than, say, a mac pro.

8. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

velocityg4

Not quite there are some thorough guides for i7 systems but it still takes some work. The main reason for doing a hackintosh is as a hobby. If you are doing this just to save money, then only do so because the alternative simply is not feasable.

9. Eric S. macrumors 68040

Eric S.

I'm building one now. I got this motherboard and will probably get a Core i7-920. The graphics card is nVidia 9600-based but there are lots of other choices. Other than that it's just standard stuff - SATA HD & DVD, DDR3 memory, case, power supply, etc.

10. jayjohnson macrumors newbie