I want to Delete my MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by LeeLovesMac, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. LeeLovesMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #1
    I have a MacBook that was purchased by my company... I need to turn it back into them and want to clear everything before I send it back. How can I do this?

    I have used the two disks that came with it and reinstalled everything, but all of my programs and information was untouched. I would love to send it back blank and let them put the OS back on when they get it. Can this be done?
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Put the disk in, but coose the option Erase&Install instead of the default Archive&Install :)
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Boot from those disks (like you did before), but this time, choose "Erase & Install." You may have to click an options button to reveal this choice.
     
  4. LeeLovesMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #4

    So there is no way to leave it blank? like when you format a PC...
     
  5. iHerzeleid macrumors 6502a

    iHerzeleid

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #5
    boot from the dvd and click on the menu where u can use disk tutility. use that to wipe your hd clean.
     
  6. LeeLovesMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #6

    The only option I see in disk utility is "erase free space"

    Is this the option that will do the trick?
     
  7. rendezvouscp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #7
    If you boot from the DVD, then you'll be able to click on Erase... to do the trick. I would suggest zeroing out all the data (through Security Options...) if you want to return it extra clean.
    -Chasen
     
  8. LeeLovesMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #8
    I guess I am having trouble "booting from the DVD" I am using "Mac OS x Install Disk 1" is this correct?

    What steps should I be talking to boot from the disk rather than just restarting the machine?
     
  9. rendezvouscp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #9
    Hm, it should be available in Disk Utility. You mentioned the right screen in your second to last post (where you said you could erase the free space), so it should just be a matter of pressing erase. Is it grayed out? Not there completely?
    -Chasen
     
  10. LeeLovesMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #10
    So does this sound right:

    I should click on "Macintosh HD" then select "Erase Free Space" and all of the OS and other programs will be gone?
     
  11. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #11
    Erase free space won't delete anything except the free space.

    You need to press the "erase" button

    Picture 1.png
     
  12. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    Since you're erasing a startup volume, you'll need to use the Disk Utility app included on the system disk.

    Restart the machine with the disk already inserted and it should automatically boot into the installer. From here, you can access Disk Utility from the Utilities menu at the top of the screen.

    Then, after you erase the disk, you'll need to re-install OS X.
     
  13. LeeLovesMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #13

    "Erase" is grayed out
     
  14. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #14
    You are running the Disk Utility from the install disk, correct? You cannot use the Disk Utility located in Applications > Utilities.
     
  15. LeeLovesMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #15

    When I click on the Disk, it opens up and I have several options there... so I click on the Applications folder and inside is Utilities... then click Disk Utility. Right?
     
  16. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #16
    you have to be booted from the disk. So restart and hold down "C" then find disk utilities from the menubar.
     
  17. LeeLovesMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007

Share This Page