I Want to Get it Right the First Time--Help Please

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jgraider, Feb 13, 2010.

1. jgraider macrumors newbie

This is my first post, and I'm a newbie to this HD video stuff. I've been reading everything I can find about HD video and my Mac regarding work flow. I have a Imac OS X, duel core, 2GB, 2.66GHz computer. All I have is Imovie 8 right now, but would upgrade if need be.

I'm wanting the best picture quality I can get in an HD camcorder for $650 or so. I'm not opposed to mini dv, or SD flash media, but am not really wanting a hard drive camera. All I want to accomplish is to shoot the video, download it to my Mac, then burn a true HD DVD. That's it. I've been leaning towards the CAnon HV 30 because I've read it's simple, but not sure it's true HD. I've also read where the Canon HF10 is great, but then I get into the AVCHD compatibility/HD DVD burning issues.

Can you good people please give a rookie some advice. I'm not stuck on these two cameras only, I just want to get it right as simply as possible. Thanks for the help.

2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

puckhead193

the only way to get a true "HD DVD" is to get blu-ray burner. Everything else will be SD (Standard Def.) in a 16x9 format.
    What are you taping?

3. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

Dave Braine

Can't really comment on the cameras, but I'd upgrade to iMovie9 as iMovie8 is very limited in what you can do with it. It was designed more for those just want to upload straight to YouTube rather than make serious movies.

4. jgraider thread starter macrumors newbie

Upgrading to IMovie 9 is not problem. Thanks for that tip. I'm into videoing wildlife, and even some big game hunts with my kids/nephew. That's what I'd do with it mostly. I'm wanting to burn the best quality video I can.

5. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

TheStrudel