i want to have iOS 4.0

Streptokinase

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2010
14
0
i have an iphone 3GS 32GB jb/ul with blackra1n, and now i want to have OS4.0...can someone PLEASE PLEASE help me step by step what to do and how to get 4.0 with a jb and an ul....

P.S....what are the disadvantages of havong 4.0 on 3GS or is it ok to have it....
 

Streptokinase

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2010
14
0
i am not using macbook....so i'm looking for jailbreaking through Windows...
 
Comment

Streptokinase

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2010
14
0
by this will i have a jailbreaked 4.0? i mean will it download 4.0 directly in my phone as well?
 
Comment

Gavernty

macrumors 6502
Jun 25, 2010
322
0
nope you are gonna have to restore to factory settings install 4.0.1 through itunes then jailbreak through jailbreakme.com.... i'm almost certain they have a working unlock app as well through cydia
 
Comment

Gavernty

macrumors 6502
Jun 25, 2010
322
0
and 4.0 on 3gs should work fine... some users have reported their phone running a little slower... but i assume with a clean restore/install it should run fine
 
Comment

Streptokinase

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2010
14
0
i heard from somewhere that to get 4.0 u should be running a 3.1.2 before u get 4.0...is this true ??
 
Comment

Streptokinase

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2010
14
0
ALSO can someone please tell me that to use jailbreakme.com do i have to shift+restore from itunes and then install the custom ipsw i am downloading right now from a link and saved in a drive in my pc or is there some other way....thats how i have been doing my jailbreaks previously though....
 
Comment

yentrog31

macrumors regular
Oct 10, 2009
144
2
RGGnDFW
You have many posts asking the same question over again.You're making this way too hard.
...upgrade to IOS4.0.1- plug in and iTunes will ask you to upgrade
...go to safari on your phone-type in jailbreakme.com
...you will be directed to a website and a slider will ask you to slide to JB
...congratulations you are done and Cydia will be on your phone.

..yes it is that easy...glta
 
Comment

Applejuiced

macrumors Westmere
Apr 16, 2008
40,672
6,531
At the iPhone hacks section.
You have many posts asking the same question over again.You're making this way too hard.
...upgrade to IOS4.0.1- plug in and iTunes will ask you to upgrade
...go to safari on your phone-type in jailbreakme.com
...you will be directed to a website and a slider will ask you to slide to JB
...congratulations you are done and Cydia will be on your phone.

..yes it is that easy...glta
Exactly.
And once you're JB install ultrasnow from cydia to unlock.
Thats it.
 
Comment

Streptokinase

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2010
14
0
ok...something happened...during the download of 4.0.1 my internet screwed and now i have to restart...it was halfway through the download....i have the custom 4.0 in my pc....if i shift+restore will it work? cz itunes is taking way longer to download the firmware....and then will i be able to access jailbreakme.com cz usually there is a screen with itunes logo and cable
 
Comment

ColinM

macrumors member
Jan 25, 2008
72
0
Pennsylvania
Firmware: http://appldnld.apple.com/iPhone4/061-8618.20100715.Zapn4/iPhone2,1_4.0.1_8A306_Restore.ipsw

Make sure you know where it downloaded too, go into iTunes shift/alt or whatever it is in Windows on "Restore", select that file, wait for it to update it.

Start fresh, don't restore from backup.

Go to http://jailbreakme.com. Jailbreak.

Wait for it to restart. Boom. You have Cydia. There's an unlock in Cydia.

To speed up the process, don't sync right after you have it restored. Do it after the jailbreak.
 
Comment

Streptokinase

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2010
14
0
itunes extracted the software then it was veryfying and after that error (3194)came :s
 
Comment
Feb 15, 2009
5,486
1
Boston, MA
Error 3000-3999: Error codes in the 3000 range generally mean that iTunes cannot contact the gs.apple.com server on ports 80 or 443. This may be because out-of-date or incorrectly configured security or firewall software is interfering, or due to your Internet proxy settings. If you are using a proxy, try without using one or with a known-good network. If that does not resolve the issue, follow iTunes for Windows: Troubleshooting security software issues.
 
Comment

yentrog31

macrumors regular
Oct 10, 2009
144
2
RGGnDFW
Have you edited your host file?...to downgrade to a diff firmware?...or maybe you read to much info when all you need was a basic IOS4 upgrade thru iTunes.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.