I want to increase my memory ??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lschultz777, Jan 31, 2015.

  1. lschultz777 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #1
    I want to upgrade my memory on my old laptop for the kids. This is my macbook pro:


    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro3,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP31.0070.B07
    SMC Version (system): 1.16f11
    Serial Number (system): YD8159MLX91
    Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-001B6398B058
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled


    I'm not sure which memory to get. I know amazon is loaded with them. Any suggestions on what to get?
     
  2. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #2
    Crucial have a good tool that will confirm what (Crucial) memory will suit.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    Your Mac will support up to 6GB of 667 MHz PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM. As long as the specs match, it doesn't matter which brand you use.
     
  4. lschultz777 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
  5. Raunien macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #5
  6. lschultz777 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #6
    I think the 2 sticks I will go with as its cheaper. Is it difficult to replace ? I've done if before in a tower but not a laptop.
     
  7. lschultz777 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #7
    If I get the 2 sticks will that be enough memory for me to upgrade to Snow Leopard 10.8?
     
  8. Natzoo macrumors 65816

    Natzoo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Not sure where i am
    #8
    maybe upgrade to an SSD? it will make it faster as it doesn't have any moving parts
     
  9. Raunien macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #9
    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201165

    Here is a link for how to replace your memory. It's pretty simple, just have to ground yourself and be careful. Make sure the battery is unplugged from the logic board.

    4gb is enough for snow leopard (10.6 not 10.8).

    But I also agree with Natzoo, upgrading to an ssd will do wonders.
     
  10. lschultz777, Jan 31, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2015

    lschultz777 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #10
    which one on amazon would you recommend?


    Is an SSD easy to install? The memory sticks are so easy.
     
  11. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #11
    SSD is rather easy to install.

    10.8 (Mountain Lion, not Snow Leopard) requires 2GB bare minimum. 4GB would be good for Mountain Lion. If you don't upgrade then it would be slow.
     
  12. lschultz777 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #12
    Any recommendations for SSD? There are so many out there I'm not sure which one would be good for my "old girl" !
     
  13. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #13
    The most popular SSDs around here seem to be the Samsung Evo 840. Crucial SSDs are also popular
     
  14. lschultz777 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #14
    When I got Amazon and search for Crucial SSD, pages come up. Can anyone give me specifics ?
     
  15. austinpike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #15
    I would be cautious of putting an SSD in that machine. I recently upgraded a friend's MBPro of similar vintage (a 4,1) and had nothing but problems. I had a number of SSDs lying around (240gb from crucial, kingston, and seagate) - they all failed partway through the OS install. The only one that made it through was a 120gb Kingston V300. It mystifies me as to why that drive worked when the 240gb version of the same drive errors out. Note that all these drives work just fine in various other (newer) machines.

    Part of the problem is the 2007 MacBook Pro only has SATAI, whereas current drives are SATAIII. Theoretically the drive will downstep to the SATAI speed (which will still be much faster than a platter HD) but for whatever reason it wasn't working for me. You might be better off if you can find and older SATAII drive, but those actually cost more since they are out of production.

    I'm not saying you shouldn't try it, but I'd buy from a place you can easily return, or have another use in mind for the SSD if it doesn't work. I did a good amount of searching but could only find discussion on the SATA I/III thing and not much in the way of confirmed working drives.
     
  16. lschultz777 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #16
    I'm not looking for a fast and furious machine... she's old :( My kids hate non macs and wanted to salvage this for school research and writing papers... nothing extreme.

    I think I'll go with a single 4gb stick and have 5 gb of mem.
     
  17. Gjwilly, Jan 31, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2015

    Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
  18. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #18
    You probably damaged the cable...
     
  19. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #19
    Crucial MX100 is about the best bang for the buck right now and would suit you just fine.
     

Share This Page