Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jryoo24

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 18, 2012
Hi,I'm a student who is highly interested in programming and all these stuffs.
I really want to start learning ios programming, but I just can't do it.
I've been studying VB for a year, and ios programming looks like some randomized combination of letters!
Where should I start with? Should I master C? C++?
Any advise would be helpful for me...
Thanks!

Jryoo24

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 18, 2012
Oh I didn't notice there was developer forum.

Oh I didn't notice there was developer forum.

jnoxx

macrumors 65816
Dec 29, 2010
Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
iOS Development isn't something that can be learned real fast.
Thing is, Objective C, is a superset of C, so it leans alot on C.
You can make very structured code, they tried to make it as readable as possible in English. if you read an Apple's method name, just try to read it in English (learned that from Stanford university video's). It will make sence in some way.
The thing I can't say enough is to check out the University video's from Stanford University, they are free on the iTunes store, and they teach you from scratch (they expect you to know OOP a bit, but they will still explain), till the end of an app. So maybe that's a good start.

Jryoo24

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 18, 2012
iOS Development isn't something that can be learned real fast.
Thing is, Objective C, is a superset of C, so it leans alot on C.
You can make very structured code, they tried to make it as readable as possible in English. if you read an Apple's method name, just try to read it in English (learned that from Stanford university video's). It will make sence in some way.