I want to run Pro Tools 7.3 on my MacBook!

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by TheScavenger, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. TheScavenger macrumors 6502

    TheScavenger

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #1
    I really want to run Pro Tools 7.3 M-Powered on my laptop without serious lag. Is this even possible? I want to use an M-Audio Firewire 410 soundcard with a medium sized MIDI keyboard controller.

    Here are the specs on my MacBook:

    2.0GHZ Core 2 Duo 4MB L2 Cache
    2GB Mushkin RAM
    160 7200 RPM Seagate Momentus

    Should I up the RAM to 3GB or would that be dumb?


    Thanks!
     
  2. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #2
    recording/playing back audio isn't CPU intensive. macs have been able to handle this for 20+ years, and any of today's machines have ridiculous amounts of power for that. running lots of plugs and s/w synths will eventually slow it down.
     
  3. TheScavenger thread starter macrumors 6502

    TheScavenger

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
  4. BCains macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #4
    My old Macbook Pro (1.8ghz / 1.5GBRAM) handles protools fine.
    I don't think you will have any problems with what you have.
    Obviously with Pro Tools LE it does have latency but its ver minimal.

    One question thou, why are you wanting to use the M-Audio Soundcard?
    With Pro Tools the digi 002/003 is your interface...
     
  5. TheScavenger thread starter macrumors 6502

    TheScavenger

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #5
    First off let me say that I am not sure of the differences between M-Powered and LE. I know M-Powered is specifically made for M-Audio devices.

    I want to use Pro Tools M-Powered because I can get it for $150 with the education discount. I haven't been able to find LE for sale anywhere. Maybe I am not looking hard enough.

    I want to use the M-Audio soundcard because it is compatible with Pro Tools M-Powered.

    I am very new with this stuff if you couldn't tell :D
     
  6. TheScavenger thread starter macrumors 6502

    TheScavenger

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #6
    Also, the 002 family is too expensive for me and the 003 family is way too expensive.
     
  7. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #7
    it's bundled free w/ LE hardware.
     
  8. TheScavenger thread starter macrumors 6502

    TheScavenger

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #8
    I am looking at the MBox 2 and MBox 2 mini but they both appear to be USB 1.0 wired. I assume USB 1.0 is quick enough to handle this?

    Josh
     
  9. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #9
    i know of no USB device which cannot handle the number of simultaneous inputs and outputs it provides.
     
  10. TheScavenger thread starter macrumors 6502

    TheScavenger

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #10
    I am definitely reassured now :D
     

Share This Page