Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

L14M333

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 4, 2010
Hello. Im a complete noobie when it comes to developing, programing and so on but i want to start developing apps for the iPhone and the upcoming iPad. as i've said i have no experience what so ever in all this. I've downloaded the SDK, i have a new late 2009 21.5" iMac with another 20" External Display so i have all all the necessary software and hardware to start developing but i dont have the knowledge. I've looked at this guide: http://guides.macrumors.com/Cocoa_FAQ but im not 100% sure if that is starting from scratch or with a basic level of developing knowledge. All i need is somebody to put me in the right direction by referring guides or books i can buy ect.

all help will be appreciated.

Thanks

Liam

jacksongan

macrumors member
Aug 31, 2009
u can start with this book:

Programming in Objective C 2.0 by Stephen Kochan.

followed by this book

Beginning iphone Development by Dave Mark and Jeff LaMarche.

L14M333

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 4, 2010
u can start with this book:

Programming in Objective C 2.0 by Stephen Kochan.

followed by this book

Beginning iphone Development by Dave Mark and Jeff LaMarche.

Hello.

Thanks for the advice, but to be 100% sure if i was to buy these i wouldn't need any background knowledge on programming ect?

Thanks

Liam

jacksongan

macrumors member
Aug 31, 2009
Hello.

Thanks for the advice, but to be 100% sure if i was to buy these i wouldn't need any background knowledge on programming ect?

Thanks

Liam

well, Liam, half a year ago i posted a similar thread like urs, and our frens here gave me that suggestion, and i hv an apps sitting right on top of its category in the apps store now, so what do u think?

anyway, u got to read the 1st book first, dun go to the 2nd one without reading thru the 1st one, else u will vomit blood.

cheers.