I want to update my os x 10.3.9

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Wandervogel, Nov 29, 2008.

  1. Wandervogel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #1
    hi all,

    i try desperadly to update my os x 10.3.9 to a newer version. What do i have to do?

    Thanks
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    What kind of Mac do you have?

    If it meets the requirements of Tiger, you just buy a Tiger retail DVD (the black one with an X on it), put it in the DVD drive, and restart off it.

    If it meets the requirements of Leopard and you prefer to go all the way to Leopard, you buy a Leopard retail DVD (also black with X) and put it in the drive and boot off it.

    My personal recommendation is that, if you want Tiger, you should ideally have 1GB or more of memory. If you have 512MB-768MB, Tiger is still okay but you may have to disable Dashboard and/or Spotlight to get adequate performance.

    If you want Leopard I'd recommend against this unless it's a G5 with more than a gig of memory.

    Or is there some subtlety of the issue missing?
     
  3. Wandervogel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #3
    thanks for the quick answer...

    Here are some informations

    CPU Type: PowerPC G4
    CPU Speed: 1.25 GHz
    Memory: 256 MB
    Bus speed: 167 MHz

    Hope you can tell me if it meets the requirements.

    Thanks
     
  4. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #4
    Here is Apple's list of requirements for Tiger


    Summary
    Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger system requirements

    Products Affected
    Mac OS X 10.4
    To use Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger, your Macintosh needs:

    A PowerPC G3, G4, or G5 processor
    Built-in FireWire
    At least 256 MB of RAM
    DVD drive (DVD-ROM), Combo (CD-RW/DVD-ROM) or SuperDrive (DVD-R) for installation
    At least 3 GB of free disk space; 4 GB if you install the XCode 2 Developer Tools
    Check out our System Requirements webpage for an overview of the supported hardware for Mac OS X.


    For Leopard -
     

    Attached Files:

  5. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #5
    While you Mac meets the Tiger requirements as posted above by iMac-Knight, you are right on the edge memory-wise. You will be very disappointed in the performance of Tiger (and Leopard would require more just to meet minimum requirements) without installing more RAM. Memory is one of the most cost-effective ways to improve performance in your Mac, and in this case it would make a very noticeable improvement. Even performance under your current 10.3.9 would be enhanced with additional RAM.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
  7. chris200x9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    #7
    buy leopard pop it in and it will pretty much take care of it's self
     
  8. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #8
    With what he has, currently, Leopard won't work. He needs to upgrade hardware first. :rolleyes:
     
  9. StuBeck macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    The only thing I would recommend Leopard for is time machine. But otherwise I wouldn't run it on that machine, even if you upgrade it to the max RAM.
     
  10. highertrod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #10
    installing Mac OSX leopard to my Imac 10.3.9

    I just purchased the new Leopard to install on my IMac version 10.3.9. As soon i Pop the DVD in, I am prompted to restart which I do, then the grey screen comes on then I am prompted to restart again and again and again.. what am I doing wrong?

    Processor, 1.8 GHz PowerPC G5
    Memory, 256 MB DDR SDRAM
    L2 Chase (per CPU) 512 KB
    :mad:

    please help!
     
  11. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #11
    Well a couple of thoughts- is this a retail (boxed) black Leopard disk you purchased or grey System restore disks? Also from looking at the Leopard system requirements listed in a post earlier in the thread I see that your memory does not meet the minimum requirements so may well be interfering with progress.
     
  12. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #12
    You can use the hardware test that comes on the disk. Don't restart, and then look for the program on the disk.
     
  13. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
  14. danvan21 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #14
    I think the easiest way would be to go get a new macbook.
     
  15. highertrod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #15
    Sickmacdoc - I bought the boxed black Leopard from Apple store. How do I upgrade my mac's memory? I am very new with the mac. Thanks
     

Share This Page