I want to use my iphone without getting the overpriced data plan.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Ponjo, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. Ponjo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #1
    Do I have to unlock the phone in order to do this?
    I don't really care if I can just use the thing as an 8 gig ipod touch, I got it today from a friend for $40.
    So how do I get around the whole syncing process in which they require me to give my information and get their service?

    EDIT: My screen only shows the itunes and the plug, suggesting me to sync, but of course I can't do that due to what part of the syncing process is trying to make me do.~
    2xEDIT: It's the original iphone model but it's version 3.o if that means anything.
     
  2. morphineseason macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #2
    I hate to be the one to give you the bad news, but with the iPhone, you have to umm......use the phone. There's a reason they released the iPod touch.

    If you're actually interested in getting AT&T service, then to answer your question, yes, the iPhone data plan is required and costs $29.99. The lowest voice plan is $39.99. These fees are monthly charges of course. Also, the iTunes logo and plug will not disappear from your phone until it is activated with AT&T service either through iTunes, by calling AT&T, or visiting an AT&T store.
     
  3. Ponjo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #3
    I'm not sure if that's necessarily true, due to the fact then when I had the phone with my friend's cancelled sim card in it, I was able to freely do everything without any form of cell phone service. o_O
     
  4. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #4
    With a very simple mod you could get the iphone to work on t-mobile instead of at&t. Using an iphone modded to work on t-Mobile has its own plusses and minuses of course.
     
  5. morphineseason macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #5
    Maybe I stand corrected. A quick google search gives me this: http://deals.venturebeat.com/2008/07/02/magically-turn-your-iphone-into-an-ipod-touch/

    The article is from 2008 though, so I'm not exactly sure how relevant it is now.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    You'll have to jailbreak it most likelly.
    is it a 2G or 3G?
     
  7. teaguecole macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #7
    Well, I have a 3G and ATT service but I don't have the data plan and the phone activates itself and I can use it. I have even gotten it replaced at the Apple store and all they care about is that their is an ATT sim card in their. I know the 3G is locked to ATT and that is it, where as the 1st generation EDGE you HAVE to unlock/activate (through pwnage tool) it if you don't have the data plan even if you are with ATT. That being said, if it is a 3G I would think you could just stick a 3G sim card that doesn't have an account on it and it would work as an iPod.

    I think a huge misconception is, that you have to have a data plan to use a 3G iPhone. All you need is an ATT account and you can use it. Their are plenty of sites that install a profile that disables the APN so you can only use WiFi for internet. I live on a college campus with WiFi everywhere, so it doesn't really bother me. I have been doing this for about a year and I haven't had any change in my bill.

    However, I believe you probably have the EDGE iPhone if it is asking you for your information etc. when you plug it in and sync to iTunes. I would go about unlocking it through pwnage tool. You don't have to jailbreak it. Just do a custom build and make sure you have checked Activate The Phone and then make sure you uncheck all the Cydia stuff. If you don't know how to do that their are a bunch of tutorials.

    www.unlockit.co.nz <-- use that to disable your APN so you don't get raped by data fees.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Thats if the 3G iphone is activated.
    Then you can use it with a different AT&T simcard or even without a sim card at all. It will tell you when you restart no sim card installed and you just hit ok.
    But if its not activated and shows the plug to Itunes picture then its not as simple.


     
  9. Ponjo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #9

Share This Page