Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheHoff

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 22, 2008
If you want to reduce my identity to the computer I own, technically, I'm a MacBook Pro.

I started with an original IBM PC 8086, then 8088, skipped 80286, then 80386, quite a few 486's, Pentiums, and up. For years I told myself that Windows was better and I could build a more capable machine for less money than a Mac. Well, the new Macbook Pro won me over.

Actually, the iPhone got me a few days before... coincidentally my Vista laptop died right after that and just days after the MBP arrived in Vancouver. So here I am -- I dumped everything Windows and I'm now running a 2.4 MBP with 4 gigs of RAM (going to 6) and I swapped in a WD Scorpio Black 320 gig 7200 RPM that was in my previous laptop.

MAN THIS THING IS FAST. And not in benchmarks but in real world snappiness. I'm trying to imagine when SSDs are big enough to bother and what it will be like then, but I credit the improvements to OS X and not to any huge jump in hardware level. The simple act of moving large files around is so much smoother in OS X. And it feels like my 4 gigs of RAM goes much further... going between LR 2 and CS 4 is so much faster it is embarassing to say I held out with Vista for so long.

ubestbsteppin

macrumors regular
May 23, 2008
If you want to reduce my identity to the computer I own, technically, I'm a MacBook Pro.

Actually, the iPhone got me a few days before... coincidentally my Vista laptop died right after that and just days after the MBP arrived in Vancouver. So here I am -- I dumped everything Windows and I'm now running a 2.4 MBP with 4 gigs of RAM (going to 6) and I swapped in a WD Scorpio Black 320 gig 7200 RPM that was in my previous laptop.

Not sure you'll be able to go to 6gig of ram ATM. However, with this news that the chipset actually supports 8gig ram, maybe you'll be able to soon.